We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroon suite. The room was bigger than the main floor of my house. Only spent 1 night. The scenery was fabulous, the grounds well kept, the room was clean. Good variey of of meals available, nice little snack shop. A little out of the way for Route 66 but I'm glad I stayed here. Wish I could have stayed longer

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    252
    60
    25
    22
See reviews for
296
510
64
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival I was a bit hesitant to stay here because of the traffic on the street. The price for four nights was unbeatable so we stayed, and if we are ever in ABQ again there is no place I would stay except here. We got to know Kay and she is such a wonderful amazing hard working woman and such an inspirational person to listen to her tell her story!! This place is clean!! Yes the noise from the traffic was a bit much on Sunday night, but we still slept just fine! I can't say enough good things about our stay and our appreciation for the owner! Thanks again!! J.C

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pplrsegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We enjoyed our three day stay at Sandia Peak Inn. The location is close to Old Town, Petrogylphs National Monument and the Bio Park. Our room was clean and had plenty of outlets. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from including: waffles, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice etc. There is some road noise, but that wasn't a problem for us since we always travel with a sound machine. The real draw for this property, as many other reviewers have said is the owner, Kay. She is very friendly and attentive and "happy, happy, happy!" We loved hearing her story of coming from India to America without anything and working hard for many years to get where they are today. We love to support family owned businesses that really care about their property and the people they serve.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotaWearShades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

For those on a budget (who isn't?), this is one of the best values we have found in years. Easy checkin, clean comfortable room, good wifi. Breakfast was as expected - good coffee and rolls, waffles, toast and jam, fruit, cereal. Will definitely come again.
In addition, it is a delightful locale - art work, well kept up, cozy setting. The owners obviously care about this place and their clients.
Only negative - street traffic, but not bad at all.
Will definitely be staying here as we travel through Abuquerque once or twice a year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What the other reviewers don't tell you is that the owner of this motel really expects you to be out of your room by 9:30AM. And if you are not out by the 11AM check out time, someone will beat on your door continuously until you are out.

The continental breakfast is served from 7AM to 9AM. The expectation is that you will get up before 7, bathe and pack, go eat the breakfast, then leave the property. At 9:30 the maids knock on your door and if they find you in your room they are pretty put off.

I arrived at 11:30PM one night after a long day's drive. The room was incredibly hot, the air conditioning had not been on for several days apparently, so I did not sleep well. When the maids knocked on the door at 9:30AM I told them I was still sleeping. I woke up next at 11AM and went into the bathroom. For the next ten minutes the maids knocked on the door. By the time I was done in the bathroom they had gone, so I got in the shower. For the next ten minutes the phone rang. By the time I got out of the shower the phone had stopped, but as I was drying off and putting on some clothes the owner began pounding on the door and screaming. When I finally had on enough clothes to be decent I went to the door and told her that if she would not scream at me for ten minutes I would get out of her motel and never come back. Which I did.

If you are not going to get up at 7AM and get off the property by 9:30AM do everyone a favor and don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DharmaBumSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed there in late May. Check-in was easy and efficient. The room (king bed) was typical motel, but still comfortable, as was the bed. We didn't expect much of a breakfast, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of items offered.

Only two minor complaints...first, the location, along Central Ave. (Rt. 66) tends to be a bit noisy as there's lots of traffic going by day and night. Also, the owner was very conscious of her TA rating and kept urging us to write a good review (BTW, this review is totally unbiased as I am from the East Coast). Finally, we asked for a copy of our bill at checkout, and all we got was a xerox copy of the check-in form, rather than an itemized bill.

Having said all that, I would probably stay here again if I were in Albuquerque. It's not too far from Old Town, and, as I said, the bed was as comfortable as many high end hotel chain beds. And the room was, in fact, clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccsuwxman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Management so kind. Room big and clean and unique. Love this kind of place. Vintage feel. Quiet and cozy. Would definitely come back again. It was a great stop on our cross country trip and a nice change from a big chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
756 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Property: Sandia Peak Inn Motel
Address: 4614 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87105-1654
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#39 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing