We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in ABQ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This motel was perfect for our needs. Right on historic rt 66 (now central ave) it was a great location. The woman who runs it (owns it?) is very sweet and hospitable. The room seemed clean and fairly spacious w a king bed, fridge and microwave. The TV was a letdown as it is a huge flat screen but with no HD channels... But we really weren't in the room that much anyway so it was really just annoying before we went to bed. There is a small indoor heated pool which was nice to relax in after a long day of sightseeing. The free breakfast was a fairly decent spread with make your own waffles, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, Danish and coffee. Nothing fabulous but not bad for free. I would definitely recommend staying at the sandia peak inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dana9880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I gave 5 stars becuse Sandia Peak exceeded the standards of a discount motel.

Hotel is a older structure located on Historic Rt 66. Everything is in tip-top shape and the owners clearly take pride in their business. Though not a historic motel, it has the charm of one. Cute statuary in the parking lot, rooms decorated in southwestern theme. Decoration and feel of the place is tasteful and charming... actually kind of funky and cool, but not in any way racy.

Rooms are fair to large sized + everything in the rooms is in good to very-good condition and clean. Flat screen TV + Refrigerator + microwave + coffee maker included. Bathrooms in good shape.

Free breakfast is thoughtful- the coffee is actually very good and fresh cut fruit in addition to the usual (waffles, cereal etc).

Location very close to ABQ's Historic Old Town and a short drive to University District. Botanical Garden / Aquarium very close. Neigborhood kind of quiet... nightlife and food require short car ride, but ABQ is very navigable.

Particularly in its price range, this place is a "can't go wrong" option. Stayed a total of 5 nights and would stay again / reccommend to a friend even at a higher rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were greeted by the ever smiling Kay, owner of the hotel. She's obviously very proud of her hotel and has a right to be.
At a very reasonable rate we stayed in a large room with a king size bed that had a perfectly firm mattress.
The continental breakfast delivered some very light and fluffy waffles and some prefectly prepared boiled eggs which was very easy to open. She will tell you her secret if you ask.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mageith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel based on previous user comments. They were right, it's a good place to stay. The owner knocked herself out helping to make our stay delightful. Everything was done to make the guest comfortable and happy. The only negative was the mattress which the owner said was to be replaced with new ones the following week. If you stay here, you'll be more than satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccool547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my first trip to Albuquerque and I booked this motel based on reviews and ratings. That said, it is an old, but updated motel located on old route 66. The location is good because the entire length of road (heading towards the college) has some great restaurants, bars and pubs. People in the reviews said this is a "sketchy" area, but I did not see anything out of the ordinary for a city. Like all places, there are some less desirable areas and some eye sores.

The room I had was small, but I was on a solo trip so I did not mind it. The furniture is old and the mattress seemed old and gave me a back ache. The linens were very clean as well as the bathroom, and shower area. On a cleanliness scale, I give it a 10 out of 10.

I read that people complain about road noise. Well that would be a giving considering that is right on a major road. That said, I did not notice that much noise and had no problem watching TV, working, and sleeping.

If you are on a budget and do not need all the "bells and whistles", this is a great place to stay. I would recommend this motel to others and would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THXll38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an older property that is well maintained. Clean and comfortable. On historic route 66. Easy ride to attractions in Albuquerque. Room was in western motif with plenty of outlets. Large flat screen TV, and table and chairs. A low budget hotel that goes above and beyond to get the job done. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Motel is spotlessly clean and well appointed. But the thing that stood out most was how friendly and welcoming Kay (the owner) is. Kay is a lovely, warm and charming lady who made us feel right at home. Thanks Kay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimAllen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#12 of 143 in Albuquerque
793 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,835 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#45 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Address: 4614 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87105-1654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#39 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $66 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing