We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Excellent service, great location on a bus route and near downtown/oldtown, friendly host and staff, super clean and spacious rooms, beautiful gardens and statuary. Breakfast was supplemented with fresh strawberries and fruit. Altogether a wonderful place at a very reasonable rate. First rate. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    235
    57
    24
    20
See reviews for
277
480
62
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had a really rough experience in New Mexico and at the last minute needed somewhere to stay. They were extremely friendly, nice spacious room, clean, and near a shopping center with food, small shopping, and a fun hispanic grocery store. Isn't the nicest area in town, but by no means a bad area. Large hispanic community which I think is what shocked previous people that game. Overall great stay, cheap, and they were around and extremely friendly when I really needed it. I will probably never come back to New Mexico, but if I did I would come back here. The only thing that could have been better was outdoor pool instead of indoor, but still nice.

Room Tip: no restaurant, but does have continental breakfast. Location pretty good since it is near the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were tired at the end of two weeks on the road and didn't have reservations in Albuquerque. TripAdvisor rated this hotel #2 in Albuquerque so we decided to check it out. The neighborhood is a little run down but the hotel is in tip top shape. The owner was very welcoming and greatly pleased that favorable reviews brought us to her facility. Our room was very large, very comfortable, and very well appointed. The pool was very relaxing. The breakfast was of good quality and variety. The owner keeps a close eye on the supply of goods and responds instantly if a patron makes a request. It was the best hotel experience of our entire trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLyndaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

If I had never looked at TripAdvisor, the probability of me staying here would be slim. Sandia Peak Inn is not in the most glamorous part of Albuquerque, and on the outside much of the motel looks a bit old and outdated.

But I'm glad that I found this motel, because it's a gem.

The management sets this place apart. When the lady saw that I was traveling with a wife and two small children, she gave me a free upgrade to a bigger room. All the employees I saw went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our room and the breakfast. The clean, comfortable rooms were more evidence that management cares for the property and their guests.

On the whole, the location makes the choice of lodging a bit of a tradeoff, but the care and cleanliness of this motel make it a wonderful choice for travelers to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SleeperAwakened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We just got back from a visit to Albuquerque where we stayed at the Sandia Peak for three nights. We have nothing but good things to say...Kay is wonderful and truly cared about us and the quality of our stay. She upgraded us to a bigger room so we would be more comfortable and have more room for our toddler, and asked us every morning if everything was OK. Breakfast was very nice as well - an assortment of bagels, English muffins, danish, toast, cereal, fruit and yogurt. (Way more than what I expected for the very affordable cost of our room.) I overheard other guests ask for things that weren't available (some type of fruit?) and Kay's response was that she would be sure to pick some up that day. She even offered to bring some by the room when she got back.

All in all, this is the best $63 per night (including tax) I have ever spent on a hotel room. It was clean and quiet - and those two things alone are hard to find at this price. Add the clear pride of the management, the breakfast, and the homey adornments on the property, and it is a true gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This place was such a delight! We had never stayed in a Motel before so wondered about it. Tripadvisor reviews recommended it big time and it was a great deal too so we decided to give it a shot! We were very very pleasantly surprised by the experience! It was more like a bed and breakfast! The hostess Kiki is extremely friendly and hospitable- she made sure our stay was extremely comfortable and we had everything we needed in the room. Guest satisfaction is definitely her top priority!
It is also conveniently located - close to Old Town and also an hour's drive from Sandia Peak and 15 miles from the tramway.
Definitely recommended for a clean comfortable and cosy stay with a wholesome breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaturkhiladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greeley, colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here during our recent trip to view the annular eclipse. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the owner very helpful. The breakfast was good and included your typical selection of cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast,muffins, etc.. It's a bargain for the area and located fairly close to Old Town. We missed out on the nearby steakhouse ( closed on Sundays) which I hear was previewed on the Food Network.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea2675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Property: Sandia Peak Inn Motel
Address: 4614 Central Ave SW, Albuquerque, NM 87105-1654
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#39 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing