We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”
Review of Tingley Beach

Tingley Beach
Ranked #44 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having lived here forever, this area used to be like the dump along the river. It is now a fabulous place for fishing, water play, paddle boats, picnics, or just walking around the ponds. Work continues to spiff it up. Staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful. Kudos to the city for their commitment to a wonderful recreation area! AND it includes a stop on the rail line from the Zoo to the Botanical Gardens/Aquarium. Nice job, City of Albuquerque!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    19
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice, but not great”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I didn't see anything other than the feathered friends that grabbed my attention. It was nice but not spctacular. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but whatever, that was not it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mscoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rent one of the Pedal Boats!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We're from here so we realize that a body of water the size of Tingley Beach is nothing to take for granted - unlike some of the out-of-town visitors who have been less-than-impressed with it. Just went with the family this past weekend and rented one of the 4-person pedal boats for one hour. Made some great memories for just $14 for the afternoon. (DON'T FORGET TO BRING A LOAF OF BREAD to feed the geese and babies who will come right up to your boat for a snack :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thewebangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'm from Minnesota”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I'm originally from Minnesota and I don't mean this to sound stuck-up in any way however, compared to the lakes and parks we have there this was nothing special. BUT I will say it was nice to see water in this city!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie62884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You call this clean ?”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Don't be disappointed that they call this a beach. It's been cleaned up in recent years, many taxpayer's dollars went into it, but it's not really a beach to my eyes. Locals actually go fishing here, but you'll still need a fishing permit, even if you're just there for a couple of hours or there for a picnic. i wouldn't go out of my way to take out of town guests to this "beach."

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lugubrious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tingley Beach also viewed

 

Been to Tingley Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing