We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoo fly shoo!”

The Grove Cafe & Market
Ranked #6 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Huning Highland Historic District
Description: The Grove Café & Market is East Downtown’s artisan breakfast and lunch café. Enjoy an abundance of fine foods and culinary treats while sipping specialty coffee, tea and wines on our spacious outdoor patio. Sunday Brunch specials highlighting seasonal ingredients, salads featuring local and organic produce, housemade english muffins and signature cupcakes…the grove is here for your everyday cravings.
Orange County, Ca
Level Contributor
580 reviews
492 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Shoo fly shoo!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We wished the flies would go away but they did not. The food was amazing! However, the flies were out of control and ruined our lunch. We hope they work on this bothersome pest which contributes to the overall ambience and guests experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MominOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    198
    36
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Light lunch specialists, with enthusiastic clientele and fine venue”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I guess I'm an authority, having driven an hour all over Albuquerque looking for a good lunch spot that wasn't too busy. Finally got to the Grove, which was furthest of all candidates. I'm glad we waited.

Order at the counter from the large blackboard overhead, grab a table inside or on the shaded patio, and your meal will be delivered. The staff was charming; the decor new, stylish and comfortable, and the Sunday afternoon late lunch crowd was energetic.

The short wait to order gave time for careful consideration of the menu. It's a salad day for us. My Tuna salad Niçoise suited me perfectly. The housemade lemon basil vinaigrette carries lots of flavor, pleasing to the palate but in danger of overpowering if overdone. The tuna salad itself is nicely composed. A fine choice for a warm, sunny afternoon.

My companion chose the Farmer's salad at my urging. I got to steal the yellow beets, which I'd never tried before. Tasty!

Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
294 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Hip and Happening for Lunch”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Clearly the spot where the Hip and Happening folks meet for lunch. Sat next to two University profs discussing department politics! Popular with locals. Wide selection of breakfast, lunch and apparently dinner items. Order at counter and then they bring to table. Very creative cuisine - had a Croque Monsieur (French ham and cheese sandwich) very good and excellent desserts. Caution, these appear to sell out early, then done for the day. Move fast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jnjtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat, A little pricey”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to say that this was a great place to get some breakfast. I would suggest going early to get a seat. I had the breakfast burrito which was very good, and my wife had the croque madam with fresh fruit. The croque madam was awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hinds_billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Grove Cafe and Market -- Outstanding !”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Best salads! Loved the Kale Salad, Farmers Salad and yummy Tortilla soup. Delicious and easy stop to or from ABQ airport. Just off the freeway on Central Street. The menu offers breakfast served all day, with great salad and gourmet hot or cold sandwiches. Save room for desserts -- not to be missed. Staff was amazingly friendly. Great stop, great find!
Be sure to get there by 4:00pm -- before the close!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove Cafe & Market also viewed

 

Been to The Grove Cafe & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing