We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesom view”

Sandia Peak Tramway
Ranked #1 of 220 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's longest aerial tram ride takes visitors 2.7 miles to the 10,000-foot peak of the Sandia Mountains.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
austin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesom view”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

It was a nice and smooth ride to the top. Great view of the city. The restaurant at the top was very good, both in food and service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank fjmAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,694
    1,207
    210
    48
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Fun tram and a good way to get to the higher elevations. We did not eat at the restaurant at the top. Interesting as you ride up you are going over rock formations -at the top on the other side it's green with a ski area. Totally different environment. On a clear day can see a long ways.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip out to the tram, tram guide was funny and had us all laughing, great veiws of the area.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

It's a great ride and wow what a view , we went late in the afternoon, so we got the sun set as well, you can stay up top as long as you want.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank scooplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Pretty standard Tram”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The views from the top are pretty. I don't find Albuquerque to be the most beautiful of cities - it's a post WW-II sprawled city in a fairly dusty valley with only a little green. However, the east side of the Sandia Mountains are gorgeous, like the Rocky Mountains. There are tons of hikes that you can take off from the top.

However, you can easily take a detour up the crest from the Turquoise Trail and get into this beautiful side of the mountains.

The tram itself is OLD. I'm not afraid that it's going to break, but be prepared that it's decades old. It rises quickly and steeply. And it'll be much colder and really windy at the top. I understand that the welcome center is being expanded so people who can't take the cold and wind have someplace to wait for the ride home.

Unfortunately, the restaurant at the top is overpriced and not worth the cost. Enjoy the view at the top instead and walk around a bit, bundled up!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AntsInMyPantsDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a great excursion whether you are a local or passing through Albuquerque. The peak is a whopping 10,555? feet tall and it's really impressive. You are carried to the top in a big gondola style cable car and it's quite the climb!!! I'd say if you are afraid of heights to not stand by the window or venture down the skinny trails up top. We had bad weather the day we went, while it was sunny and beautiful down below the clouds had rolled into the mountain and weren't going anywhere. Now you think that would let us down... nah! it was still really beautiful up there even though we couldn't see very far while walking the long trails up on top of the mountain. That's why we will definitely go back another time and hope for a clear day. The staff were very pleasant and the gift store had some nice unique items in it.

The only con I have is that if you go on a day with just about zero visibility up top they should consider giving you a discount since you aren't really getting to see everything.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandia Peak Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing