We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Do if in Albuquerque”

Sandia Peak Tramway
Ranked #1 of 220 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's longest aerial tram ride takes visitors 2.7 miles to the 10,000-foot peak of the Sandia Mountains.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
389 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“Must Do if in Albuquerque”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I rode the tramway with my family (wife, kids and parents). The trip out is a pleasant and quick ride from downtown Albuquerque, and the views during the ride and at the top are stunning. My parents are a bit queasy when it comes to heights, but they found the ride up and down to be very smooth and they were fine with the trip.

The "drivers" are really tour guides, they point out some interesting and amusing sights along the way that added to the experience. The whole trip takes about 20 minutes (one way). We were there in March, it was definitely chilly at the peak so I would make sure you bring warm clothes for your time at the top.

We enjoyed walking around the top and seeing the views, there are also some trails you can hike if you have the time and desire.

There are several family friendly things to do in Albuquerque (several museums, Old Town), but this is one that gets you outside and that gives you a nice perspective on the topography in and around Albuquerque.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Counterweight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,693
    1,206
    210
    48
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too $$”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was nice to do once, but with a family of 5, it's too expensive. The views at the top were nice. We ate at High Finance....HORRIBLE. We ended up getting free drinks and 30% off the bill. They forgot to put in the kids' orders and didn't refill our drinks. There were only 3 other people in the restaurant at the time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingman, az
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Rode Sandia Peak Tramway up the mountain. Interesting ride, a nice young man was our guide during the trip. Nice scenery during & at the top of the peak. Nothing much up there unless you are a hiker. Stopped & had drinks & appetizers at the High Finance restaurant. Good drink & good appetizers. Good Razztini, good onion rings & good zucchini wheels. Tram ride cost $20. A little break if you are 62 or over, no other discount. We had nice & friendly young man as our server at the restaurant.


Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mooyai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not exciting.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were having problems breathing going up the steps to the start of the tramway - & we're quite fit for our ages! It's just another tramway & I thought it was expensive for what it was. There's not really anywhere to go at the top, just a restaurant & a walk through trees. The view is vast, but not exciting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dabblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is well worth the trip great scenery and a nice restaurant up top(high finance).On the day we went it wasn't busy and we had no wait either way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ApolloNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandia Peak Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing