We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ride, Hike and Enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Peak Tramway

Sandia Peak Tramway
Ranked #1 of 211 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's longest aerial tram ride takes visitors 2.7 miles to the 10,000-foot peak of the Sandia Mountains.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
MN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ride, Hike and Enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The tram ride itself was excellent reaching right up into the clouds. Looking down from the top we could see the city of Albuquerque...a beautiful sight! We hiked along the peak of the mountain which had excellent trails in lush forest and several overlooks where we could stop and view the valleys below. The trails were well marked and reasonable in length.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NLinTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,290
    1,075
    176
    41
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A "must see" for anyone visiting Albuquerque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

OK, it's not the cheapest activity in the world, which is why I give it a 4 rather than a 5; that said, it's absolutely worth it, especially if you're an out of towner or you're a local wanting to share a uniquely Albuquerque experience with your guests.

While there are other Trams out there, this is the worlds longest and it's right here in Albuquerque...yup...this is the only place you can take a ride on the worlds longest Tramway. The views are absolutely stunning and change constantly as you ascend...equally impressive are the views once you reach the top; a panorama of the entire Rio Grande Valley awaits you once you arrive at the top.

I personally like the ride the best during late summer where you can watch dozens of scattered monsoonal thunderstorms roam the valley. I also like to plan my trip around sunset...nothing like watching the sun slowly set from the top of the mountain.

Even in summer, it is advisable to bring a jacket...it is much cooler at the top of the mountain and often windy. Spend some time taking in the views and meander about on some easy hikes. There are some longer and more difficult hikes as well if you're so inclined. Stop in for a beer or eats at High Finance...if you intend to eat dinner, reservations are a must. Personally, I prefer Santiago's at the base of the Tram; you still get some pretty spectacular views and IMHO, the food is better and is much more reasonably priced. Reservations are highly recommended for Santiago's as well...without them, you could be in for a very long wait.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NMdesertdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been to Albuquerque number of times, but this is the first time I've had the chance to ride the Tramway. I'm sorry it took me this long as it was a great experience. Aside from the breathtaking views and awesome beauty of the area, it is really good for putting the city of Albuquerque into perspective with regard to the Rio Grande Valley and the various mountain ranges in the area. I highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GavinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sandia Peak Took My Breath Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Riding the Tram is a great adventure and I highly recommend that you try it, especially if you want to see the mountains, up close and personal. We rode the tram to meet friends who hiked up the challenging 9 mile La Luz Trail and had a great lunch at the restaurant at the top of the mountain. Unless you take this ride, you might underestimate the depth of these exquisite peaks. Do not miss this ride!

Helpful?
Thank Fpavoreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must when you're in Albuquerque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've had some good times up here on the Crest. I've taken friends and family up here for some great views and even celebrated a birthday up here. You can see not only the city but the surrounding valleys. There are little tubes where you can catch views of different areas, some as far away as Los Lunas. In the summer, they even offer rides on the ski lifts. I've created good memories up here, and it's something that you have to do while you're in Albuquerque. BEWARE THOUGH! Summer months and Balloon Fiesta season it is PACKED with tourists. Come during an off day or season and you can enjoy it better without the crowds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandia Peak Tramway also viewed

 

Been to Sandia Peak Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing