We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time!”

American International Rattlesnake Museum
Ranked #20 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses the world's largest collection of different species of live rattlesnakes and aims to correct common reptilian misconceptions.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My son is an absolute snake nut. He loves all types of reptiles, but snakes are his favorites. The owner was very friendly and knowledgeable. He tolerated all my son's questions. There are many types of snakes, as well as tarantulas, a gila monster, and a scorpion. If you enjoy reptiles, you'll like it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    129
    30
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cute Museum”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived before it had opened for the day, so we were able to walk around Old Town. We also saw outside this museum an open area, that they had all different live turtles, which was cool to see.

The museum itself was cute. There were many snakes, spiders, and other creatures from this area in glass boxes, some looked to be a little small for the living being inside of it. But the movie was interesting, and the staff was friendly and helpful, so all in all this was a great place to stop for the morning, before heading out of the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dd65stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Daughter Wanted To Go”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Eh- it's fine if you want to see rattlesnakes behind glass along with a few other indigenous critters from the area. I've seen five-foot rattlesnakes outside where I live and tarantulas, king snakes and bull snakes so it's not a big deal. I don't generally like zoos anyway. But my daughter lives in another area so I don't think she's ever seen a rattler in the wild.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank russellupsomgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
“Small Museum with Lots of Snakes”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love snakes so I couldn't wait to go into this museum. The very first snake that you see is the Western Diamondback and it is huge !!!!! There has to be close to 20 different rattlesnakes to see. There is also a Scorpion, a Black Widow Spider, and a Gila Monster. There are a couple of documentaries on different snakes showing throughout the museum. I saw one on giant Anacondas. It was really good. Throughout the museum you will see snake memorabilia such as bottles of Snake Oil. There is also a gift shop. The entrance fee is only $5.00 for adults and $3.00 for children and each person receives a certificate of Bravery.

The museum was a lot of fun and very educational. I enjoyed it and would recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Morro, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The owner of this establishment was very amusing and has great knowledge of rattlesnakes. My family and I go at least twice a year!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American International Rattlesnake Museum also viewed

 

Been to American International Rattlesnake Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing