We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Museum with Lots of Snakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American International Rattlesnake Museum

American International Rattlesnake Museum
Ranked #21 of 217 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses the world's largest collection of different species of live rattlesnakes and aims to correct common reptilian misconceptions.
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
361 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Small Museum with Lots of Snakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love snakes so I couldn't wait to go into this museum. The very first snake that you see is the Western Diamondback and it is huge !!!!! There has to be close to 20 different rattlesnakes to see. There is also a Scorpion, a Black Widow Spider, and a Gila Monster. There are a couple of documentaries on different snakes showing throughout the museum. I saw one on giant Anacondas. It was really good. Throughout the museum you will see snake memorabilia such as bottles of Snake Oil. There is also a gift shop. The entrance fee is only $5.00 for adults and $3.00 for children and each person receives a certificate of Bravery.

The museum was a lot of fun and very educational. I enjoyed it and would recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    117
    29
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Morro, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The owner of this establishment was very amusing and has great knowledge of rattlesnakes. My family and I go at least twice a year!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Calling All Herpetophiles!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a fun, delightful stop if you admire snakes and other reptiles. Gorgeous specimens and great information. Avoid if you're herpetophobic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PartTimeGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Texas
Level Contributor
229 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I hate snakes..... But”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Walk in and the first snake you see is the Western Diamondback. Huge snake. Walk around the corner to see not only an assortment of snakes but scorpion, Gila Monster etc. Even someone that hates snakes like me enjoyed the tour. I even got a Certificate of Bravery upon my exit. I recommend this little place highly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you like 'em...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rattlesnake museum was great if you like snakes- there were many varieties. A nice gift shop is just outside the museum with collectible items.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank theresao14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American International Rattlesnake Museum also viewed

 

Been to American International Rattlesnake Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing