We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel, Ask for quieter side of hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Ranked #35 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Ask for quieter side of hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived in Albuquerque in the late evening and just needed a hotel for the night. This place had good enough reviews and we have always had pleasant experiences at Hilton Garden Inns so we gave it a shot. I read reviews before I entered so I knew: for a quiet room, you MUST ask to stay on the side of the hotel that faces AWAY from I-40. Unless you are from a huge city and are used to noise when you sleep, you must ask to have a room that does not face the interstate. Don't worry, just ask, the staff is used to this question. If one is not available, the front desk clerk told us that there is 1 room on the interstate-side that has double paned windows and is quiet. Try asking for that one!

Anyway, when we arrived, they had freely-available, freshly baked cookies on the desk for guests (nice perk!). The front desk clerk was really nice and helpful, she even went into the kitchen to nab us chocolate chip cookies, because only sugar and peanut butter were on the desk. She let us know that the hotel grounds are very safe...they have security that patrols the grounds and parking lot all night (which is great if you're driving across country and have a car filled with your life). We checked into our room and found it a normal room side but certainly comfy. We found that the beds were comfortable and all the room and bathroom linens were clean.

Breakfast wasn't free but we went to the Einstein Bagels that is just a few minutes from the hotel. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not face I-40. If there aren't any available, there is one room that faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    168
    67
    30
    28
See reviews for
193
121
53
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The gm was unwilling to help with a reservation issue. Kept passing the buck and unprofessional. So upsetting this diamond member will never stay at another Hilton property. A $140 issue has cost Hilton $20,000 a year, real smart.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your concern and for contacting us. We certainly understand the frustrations of travel and changing plans! However, you received a greatly discounted pre-paid rate. As per Hilton, no changes can be made to the reservation after 72 hours of making it. I am so sorry that did not work out for you in this case. We hope you will return on your next trip to Albuquerque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here last fall and it was fine but this trip we woke up with back aches in the morning and tossed and turned all night. The dials did not work for bed adjustments so not a good sleep at all. Breakfast was good. Just an average hotel stay. Towels were clean and the room was clean. Had a room not facing highway so no noise heard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much, Brannie, for choosing to stay with us again! And thank you for your nice comments about our hotel, with the exception of your bed. I am so sorry you had a problem with it! Please feel free to call me at the hotel and identify your room to me, so that we can address the repair need. We look forward to having you back and making it a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

HGI seems to be our chain of choice lately, and this one didn't disappoint except in one area. The beds were comfy, the room was very nice, the shower head was high and had good water pressure. The staff was very nice. The only complaint we had was that our room faced I-40 and was really noisy. So much so that I didn't sleep very well the two nights we stayed there. We going back in a few days on our return trip and we've asked for rooms that face the front of the hotel. Hopefully they will be quieter.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back face I-40 and are very noisy. Ask for a room that faces the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JdubyaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel, JdubyaMO! And thank you for the nice words about your stay. I am just sorry you experienced noise! I assume, from the date of your review, that you stayed with us during Balloon Fiesta, a time when we're always sold out, so there are few options if you want to move to a different room. We are, however, looking into ways to make the highway side more soundproof. Thank you for your comments. We hope you will stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here on a whim and was immediately greeted by a very friendly front desk person who apologized because I had to wait a few minutes as she attended to another guest. Very cool!
The location is a good one for Albuquerque with a chic Mall and restaurants within walking distance.You'll need a car to get to Old Town and the restaurants on Central Avenue.
The hotel itself is very clean and very comfortable. The usual Hilton garden Inn style but bigger and "posher". Rooms were also clean, plenty of different pillows to choose from,very comfortable beds, plenty of towels and quiet rooms.
The bar was busy when I arrived and people were eating dinner in the bar and restaurant, which is usually a good sign for a chain hotel.
I ate dinner out but the breakfast was good quality and fresh. The usual fruit, yoghurt and cereal etc. with a cook making eggs and omelets to order.
The staff are very friendly here. This seems to be a consistent theme with Hilton Garden Inns right now.
The only thing I can't understand is why some hotels light up their hotels with outside spotlights, like this one. It means that we are forced to close the curtains to darken the room to sleep. This is one of those hotels. I would understand if it was an architectural masterpiece but it isn't..it's a Hilton Garden Inn!The least they should do is turn them off at @ midnight!
The location isn't very pretty being right by I 25 and close to office buildings..so I wouldn't go here for a honeymoon! But if you want a central hotel in Albuquerque that is practical with restaurants close by, comfortable and a little more upscale that your usual Garden Inn I would recommend this one.

Room Tip: The hotel is beside the busy I 25 so choose a North facing room away from the interstate. In my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archietew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Do not believe the good reviews! Just average at best.
1.Very stinky floral cleanser!
2.King bed swayed in the middle - worn out!
3.Small towels and thin sheets.
4.Too small bath - shower door skimmed by the toilet and extended 6 in. into the hallway!!!
5.Cheap furniture, with little surface space.
6.Bad location, right on freeway.
Positives: Very nice lobby, very clean, and excellent breakfast.
As Hilton Diamond members, we expected a nice room. We were shown a king suite, but the stinky floral odor was so strong that we declined the room. The manager then showed us the worst room he had, which was a west side double closest to the freeway. Looked at a few more rooms, and finally took king room, where stinky floral scent was not as strong. Miserable night on worn out mattress!
RUN! to the Sheraton Uptown one mile north on same street - Lousiana. 4 star comfortable hotel with truly excellent room service. Price same or close!

Room Tip: If you must stay there, try to get a room facing away from the freeway with a sleep number bed, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, Ms. White! I am sorry that you experienced a few problems. We appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We are addressing them with housekeeping and maintenance, and we hope that you will see improvement on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We live in Texas, but resided in NM for many years, and are very familiar with Albuquerque. This is a very nice, clean hotel with accommodating staff, and good business center. We were only here for a night, but the location is perfect, whether for shopping and/or access to the freeway. India Palace is an excellent choice for lunch buffet, as well as the famous El Pinto Restaurant, Barella's, and many others. We'll definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#20 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Uptown
Albuquerque Marriott
Albuquerque Marriott
#44 of 146 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Uptown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
#27 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Address: 6510 Americas Pkwy NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-5368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#25 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#31 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing