We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great exercise and glimpse into the past” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petroglyph National Monument

Petroglyph National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$159.00*
and up
Albuquerque Sunrise Balloon Ride
Ranked #15 of 217 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Up to 15,000 petroglyphs or prehistoric rock art images have been found on the West Mesa volcanic escarpment, located along a 17-mile canyon outside of Albuquerque.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great exercise and glimpse into the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Best experienced with a guide/ranger. The park has a lot of history and the images on the rock change constantly based on the sun and the weather conditions. Great family excursion.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DJM7859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    442
    131
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chetek
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Intesting but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a good option for a place to visit if in Albuquerque. Short drive into the suburbs. Once in the park you can drive to different areas to hike around. There are short hikes up and down the rocks that allow you to get a close up view of several different glyphs. As a bonus, you also get decent views of city and mountains. It is a little disheartening to see all of the development around the park, including at the top of one of the mesas in the park. Ok, but not blown away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank prairiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca, Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth doing, even if it's in the 'burbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I have trekked to many a remote petroglyph or pictograph site, so our expectations were on the low side for this edge-of-Albuquerque location national monument. Yet, we know that national monuments usually don't receive that type of designation unless they are truly remarkable. So, we decided to roll the dice and visit the park.

We are so glad we did. Yes, the park's sections are bordered by prime suburban residential and commercial development, yet once you walk into the protected area, the sights and sounds of the city fall away as you marvel at the hundreds of petroglyphs before you. We only had time to visit one of the park's three canyons---Piedras Marcadas---however, when back in Albuquerque we will be putting the other two canyons on our list.

The monument is an excellent place to introduce youngsters to one of America's most priceless archaic treasures---the rock art of the West. It is also a place where those with physical limitations may experience high quality rock art without having to hike 6 miles to do so. And, as if the world-class rock art weren't enough, there is also an area where one can walk among extinct volcanoes.

By the way, we give the NPS and the people of Albuquerque kudos for the well-maintained trails, especially the absence of litter and pet waste.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Historical Hike Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at visitor's center first and got the lowdown on the hikes. We opted for the longer hike with more Petroglyphs even though it seemed like everyone there was asking about the shorter hikes - I started to get nervous about the hike difficulty but the ranger said it was easy.

For the longer hike, we had to drive to a different location which was right behind a Oil Change garage so seemed weird. We were the only ones there and it was mid morning.

The hike WAS very easy and we loved that you can go off the trail and climb in the rocks for better viewing of the petroglyphs. Quite a departure from parks that insist you "stay on the path." The views were gorgeous but for most of the trail you could still hear traffic and see houses - we were basically in their backyard. So it never really felt like a nature hike.

The petroglyphs were amazing and it's fun to attempt to decipher them. We decided the ancients were foretelling of cell phones, Mickey Mouse, twin towers, selfies and more.
Overall a fun history lesson if you can't stray too far from ABQ.

PS- the next day we drove out to Three Rivers Petroglyph and it had spectacular 360• views and no houses or traffic!

Helpful?
1 Thank TDOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Little bit of history right in your backyard!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This park was dog friendly on some of the trails so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The hike was easy enough, but the rocks were amazing. We had fun trying to figure out what the carvings were saying. I thought they all looked like Dinosaurs! (Hubs of course disagreed!) Our dog had a blast sniffing everything and wandering around with us. There is so much to explore! This trail is located right off a main road and next to some houses, but soon the sounds and sights of the city disappear.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petroglyph National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Petroglyph National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing