We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B in New Mexico and one of the very best in North America.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque
Ranked #1 of 15 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“The best B&B in New Mexico and one of the very best in North America.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with Kara and Steve and what a treat. Their attention to detail was amazing. Sensational breakfasts with a new menu item every day. They have laundry facilities with machines that wash and dry within an hour. No charge. It's a short walk to the University with a number of different attractions. Two very good restaurants a short distance from the house.

Room Tip: Pick the Gold Room in the Spy House. You get your own, private entrance,
See more room tips
Green Features: Eggs from their own hens. Recycling bins for guests. No plastic, even for water.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
229
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

First review on trip advisor here, so please bear with me.

I stayed at the Spy House for 4 nights. The accommodations are fantastic, this place is a dream. Great history, architecture, very cozy, amazing decor; this B&B delivers on every aspect. Not only is it beautiful, it is also in a great location (steps away from pizza place, Artichoke Cafe, downtown, Convention Center - you name it). The selling point here is the dedication and hospitality of its owners and its staff. They are amazing at what they do, which is, to make you feel at home. Highly recommend this B&B. Check out their Murder Mystery nights -from what I have heard, they are a blast.

Downtown Historic B&B - Thank you for being such great hosts!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our first actual visit to ABQ (we usually go straight to Santa Fe). We decided to stay in a B&B (instead of a hotel) - often no more expensive than a reasonably priced hotel and more character. Well, character this had. We chose not to rent a car, so one of the deciding factors was the downtown location - an easy and inexpensive shuttle ride from the airport. Many restaurants and other activities were located within easy walking distance/access to public transportation. The people of ABQ were very friendly and helpful in navigating the public transportation system. We stayed in the Freeman room at the Spy House (they own 2 adjacent buildings). The accommodations were perfect for our visit. We happened to be the only ones in the house, so it was very quiet. The bedroom was very comfortable and we loved the clawfoot tub in the bathroom. The books on the shelf in the living room were very interesting and the house has lots of interesting historical "things".. The Internet connection was good. Breakfast was scrumptious! The owners are very nice. We saw mostly Steve Grant during our stay, but Kara popped in briefly. They also have turkeys and bunnies in the back yard - a beautiful place to hang out or hold a gathering (like a wedding reception). The properties are also often used for film shoots (like the series "Crash"). All in all a fabulous start to our vacation. We should have done this sooner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed one night in the Heritage house and four in the Spy House. Both were great - lovely rooms - very clean and charming. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts - everything was delicious and used local ingredients, including eggs from the back garden. It's a central location, although probably more convenient if you have a car. I felt that the innkeeper Steve really went the extra mile to make me feel at home and there were loads of extra touches (like cookies, cold drinks, irons in the rooms) to make this a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moyras2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was looking for something a bit different than the usual conference hotel. What I found was a unique combination of gracious accommodations, great food and extraordinary hosts. I stayed in Spy House which has a fascinating history and charming decor. The whole house was warm and inviting, like staying at a good friends place. Both Kara and Steve were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I couldn't have made a better choice!

Green Features: I really appreciated the owners sensitivity to sound sustainable practices and their commitment to locally sourced foods.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We had not known about the connection between the Spy House and the Rosenbergs, so it was fascinating to hear that from the host and the house is filled with books on the subject.

The breakfasts were very good and cookies were left out in the evening for hungry guests. There was a fridge to keep drinks cold and bottled water available.

This Inn is located downtown rather than Old Town, so there was no noise at night to interrupt our sleep.

We arrived before our room was ready, so the host was kind enough to direct us to an awesome restaurant within walking distance where we ate lunch till our room was ready.

The Inn also has monthly murder mystery dinners that sound like a lot of fun.

This place is highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VirtualDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was a bit disappointed with this B & B experience. I am used to friendly owners/staff, this was not the case. I was acutally made to feel like I was an intruder. My welcome letter invited me to go to the kitchen for beverages. Upon doing so, I encountered the owner. He did not greet me, I had to introduce myself. He practically blocked my approach to the kitchen and asked abruptly if he could help me. He did say he was waiting for someone to have a meeting. My perception - I was summarily dismissed. It was a charming, old home. The plus was the great location, a three block walk to Central Ave. with good restaurants. Although I would personally try another B & B (there are many in Albuquerque) I would have to recommend that others give it a try. Hopefully it will be as good as the other reviews for you.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a private bath so be sure to ask if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebW175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrantNewMexico, Owner at Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
First and foremost my sincere apologies for your first point of contact not to be what you expected!

This is certainly not what our guests typically experience and because of your recent comment we've heighten our awareness to this particular area to make sure it won't happen again!
We have worked extremely hard to build a reputation (rank #1 for several year now) throughout Albuquerque to provide a warm, friendly and most excellent overall experience.

A little background on this event: I believe on this particular day the owners had been slightly distracted because a important appointment i.e. refi closing of a property happening in kitchen
Therefore the owner was indeed a little concerned about an arrival of a certain person and probably thinking about the many issues that would encompass something such as that.
However that's no excuse and by no means did we mean to make you feel un-welcomed and again I sincerely apologize for not providing a pleasant experience like you deserved or at least explaining to you up front what was happening.

We learned from this experience, like we all do with life's adventures, which makes us more aware of our surroundings and always remembering that the guest/customer is always #1 and therefore treat them as such (regardless). If you read many of the other reviews you should see that overall guest satisfaction is quite excellent for us and would love for this to continue.

Again so sorry that you that you received the first response like you did, but at the same time thank you so much for the wake up call to help improve our overall guest relations in the future.

Thanks so much for choosing to stay at our B&B, would love the opportunity for you to try us again someday..................S

Steve Grant
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#32 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque

Property: Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque
Address: 207 High Street NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Downtown Historic B&B's, two wonderfully restored homes, great location, warm and comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing