We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Albuquerque”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque
Ranked #1 of 13 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was looking for something a bit different than the usual conference hotel. What I found was a unique combination of gracious accommodations, great food and extraordinary hosts. I stayed in Spy House which has a fascinating history and charming decor. The whole house was warm and inviting, like staying at a good friends place. Both Kara and Steve were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I couldn't have made a better choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 524 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We had not known about the connection between the Spy House and the Rosenbergs, so it was fascinating to hear that from the host and the house is filled with books on the subject.

The breakfasts were very good and cookies were left out in the evening for hungry guests. There was a fridge to keep drinks cold and bottled water available.

This Inn is located downtown rather than Old Town, so there was no noise at night to interrupt our sleep.

We arrived before our room was ready, so the host was kind enough to direct us to an awesome restaurant within walking distance where we ate lunch till our room was ready.

The Inn also has monthly murder mystery dinners that sound like a lot of fun.

This place is highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VirtualDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was a bit disappointed with this B & B experience. I am used to friendly owners/staff, this was not the case. I was acutally made to feel like I was an intruder. My welcome letter invited me to go to the kitchen for beverages. Upon doing so, I encountered the owner. He did not greet me, I had to introduce myself. He practically blocked my approach to the kitchen and asked abruptly if he could help me. He did say he was waiting for someone to have a meeting. My perception - I was summarily dismissed. It was a charming, old home. The plus was the great location, a three block walk to Central Ave. with good restaurants. Although I would personally try another B & B (there are many in Albuquerque) I would have to recommend that others give it a try. Hopefully it will be as good as the other reviews for you.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a private bath so be sure to ask if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebW175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrantNewMexico, Owner at Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

First and foremost my sincere apologies for your first point of contact not to be what you expected!

This is certainly not what our guests typically experience and because of your recent comment we've heighten our awareness to this particular area to make sure it won't happen again!
We have worked extremely hard to build a reputation (rank #1 for several year now) throughout Albuquerque to provide a warm, friendly and most excellent overall experience.

A little background on this event: I believe on this particular day the owners had been slightly distracted because a important appointment i.e. refi closing of a property happening in kitchen
Therefore the owner was indeed a little concerned about an arrival of a certain person and probably thinking about the many issues that would encompass something such as that.
However that's no excuse and by no means did we mean to make you feel un-welcomed and again I sincerely apologize for not providing a pleasant experience like you deserved or at least explaining to you up front what was happening.

We learned from this experience, like we all do with life's adventures, which makes us more aware of our surroundings and always remembering that the guest/customer is always #1 and therefore treat them as such (regardless). If you read many of the other reviews you should see that overall guest satisfaction is quite excellent for us and would love for this to continue.

Again so sorry that you that you received the first response like you did, but at the same time thank you so much for the wake up call to help improve our overall guest relations in the future.

Thanks so much for choosing to stay at our B&B, would love the opportunity for you to try us again someday..................S

Steve Grant
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Let’s start with the B&B part of the Downtown Historic Inn Bed and Breakfast. We had the luxurious Ivy Room upstairs in the Heritage House. The king size bed was very comfortable and the accommodations were very nice. The necessities have been updated with a modern twist but in keeping with the Victorian flair. For example, the claw foot tub is a wonderful vintage piece and great for bathing but at the same time the sink has a neat modern touch. The little soap bars and mini shampoo/conditioner containers were a nice surprise. The private balcony is a terrific simple retreat and we enjoyed it for a relaxing dinner. The bed and breakfast and area in general is nice and quiet and is located very closely to many hotspots in town. One of the neater things we found was the guest information booklet in each room that, if we weren’t from Albuquerque already, we would have found extremely useful. Now about that breakfast part of the B&B. Kara and Steve are some of the most gracious hosts we have had the pleasure of knowing. Every morning they cook breakfast for the guests. And not just any breakfast. Each morning it is varied, filling, and most importantly, incredibly delicious. They even catered to special food aversions. Their breakfasts are so good they actually sell a cookbook on premises.

Now for the special events portion that Lindsey, the wedding coordinator, and Kara, Steve, and the Kids offer. We’re not quite sure how they can manage having so many weddings there each year; however, they exceeded our expectations for our wedding. We had a fall wedding at the end of September that Kara and Lindsey helped us plan. Lindsey’s coordination efforts were tremendous and on the actual day proved to be invaluable in making our wedding day better than we imagined. All of the special requests we had regarding decorations and everything else they met or offered better suggestions. They kept things running smoothly and were very supportive of what we needed.

The venue itself for our wedding, while usually beautiful and pristine, was transformed into a picture out a storybook. The outdoor fireplace provided a wonderful gathering spot and great ambience while the running fountain provided a tranquil background. If tranquility isn’t completely your thing, they also provide a very nice sound system for the reception party. We were impressed with Steve and his ability and willingness to manage the playlists that we created as well as coordinate some of the wedding events. Despite some of the guests lingering too long at our S’more table Steve managed to get a good crowd for the cake cutting ceremony. Even at the very end we can’t express how amazing their entire family is except to mention that everyone chips in and helps clean up and put things away.
To conclude, the B&B is five stars. And if you are hosting a wedding there, tack on five more.

Thanks Grant Family and Lindsey!
-Kim and Chris

Room Tip: Ivy Room if you desire an ensuite bathroom, a private balcony, and a comfortable sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugar87015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Really enjoyed this B&B for our group. We stayed extra two nights as our plans changed due to shutdown of nat. Parks. Steve and Kara were terrific hosts, with great suggestions for activities around Albuquerque to fill our extra time. Breakfast was delicious, wonderfully presented every day by Kara. Comfortable areas for our group to gather inside and out. We stayed in Rose room
Were very satisfied. Recommend this spot for any Alb. Visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack k K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Albuquerque, and we enjoyed this B&B immensely. We were with a group of friends, and found it very easy to gather in multiple locations for visiting. Steve and Kara were great hosts. The breakfasts were delicious, and they were both genuinely interested in making sure that we enjoyed our time in Albuquerque. They even made us 'to go' breakfast for our 5am trip to the Balloon Fiesta! The location was convenient to several restaurants. We stayed in the Greenglass room, which has been carefully preserved with its original kitchen. Definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I planned a stay there on our way to the Grand Canyon. When that didn't work out (government shut down), we decided to stay an extra night. Great location for all parts of town and very comfortable, updated room. Steve and Kara were so much help in planning our "extra" day in Albuquerque - even went online to get us tickets to events. The grounds are wonderful and made it feel like home; and the breakfasts were fabulous. We will be going back when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were in the Ivy room - great balcony to enjoy Albuquerque weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
175 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,765 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,884 reviews
Red Horse Vineyard B&B
#2 of 13 in Albuquerque
129 reviews
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#3 of 13 in Albuquerque
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque

Address: 207 High St NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range: $110 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Downtown Historic B&B's, two wonderfully restored homes, great location, warm and comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing