We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sea Girt, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

For the price, you couldn't get a better deal. The room was spacious and very clean. The large country breakfast was way beyond what you would usually get as a hotel-breakfast-add-on. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLSeaGirtNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    51
    27
    26
    16
See reviews for
100
54
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ft lee, va
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am currently staying here for a 3 month training course in the Army. The housekeepers do an excellent job of cleaning my room. Everywhere you go in the hotel is so clean! Also, there is a pitcher of water with fresh fruit near the front desk daily. Try it if you stay here. It's delicious! I even got locked out of my room because of a door malfunction, and the receptionist on duty did everything in her power to put me at ease in such an inconvenient situation. She brought me snacks and updated me frequently on the status of the problem. Within no time, I was back in my room, and the situation was resolved. I have stayed in a number of hotels for business trips and this one ranks among the top ones I have stayed in.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eflem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

My children and I stumbled across this hotel last fall on a trip back to FL from CT. We usually use the green coupons that you get travelling along I95 to help pick out our stop for the evening. On the way up we had a disasterous stay where we ended up spending more money instead of saving money. So on the way back, we tried once more, but this hotel ad said that it had just opened. We gave it a shot. Upon arrival the young lady at the desk said that they did not have any regular rooms available, but did have a queen suite available and they would honor the coupon for the price of the room. The kids fell in love with this room (so did I)...there were two queen beds in one room and a pull out sofa in the "living room". It was wonderful. So on our latest trip this past week, I made reservations this time and was pleasantly surprised that this was exactly half way to grandma's house. Perfect. We checked in and went to the room and watched as my husband did his inspection and his verdict was "not bad, not bad at all". Breakfast the next morning was hot and fulfilling. LOVE those cinnamon rolls. Our plan on the return trip was to stay just outside DC, but hubby said let's do the extra hours and come back here. So reservations changed. On the way back south, the traffic was horrific. What should have been a 10 hour trip turned into a 14 hour trip. We called the hotel told them we would be late and was ask, but you are still coming correct. I said yes, and the gentleman who answered the phone said no worries. We'll be here for you. So when we dragged in at 12:30 am, the night clerk got us checked in in record time and we stumbled to bed. We had just come from staying at an extremely pricey bed and breakfast in MA who had horrible beds. I think that within moments of hitting the pillows at the HI, I was asleep. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean and the temp in the room perfect considering the heat of the day. Breakfast the next morning was once again stellar and we did get the cinnamon rolls! :) The manager (I wish I had gotten her name), came around the dining room and checked on everyone, asking how their stay was and how their breakfast was. It's nice to see that she cares for her hotel and how things are going. I don't know when we will be heading up north again, but this is our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsldrcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, VA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

We arrived late at night and went straight to bed so most of my findings didn't occur until the next morning. However, the AC wouldn't go below 72 degrees, which is frustrating because I'm pregnant and it's difficult to sleep at that temp. The sheets came off the bed when we sat on it, indicating it was poorly made, it stayed after we fixed it. The sheets felt like they hadn't been washed, kind of sticky. The lamps only worked half the time, the carpet felt spongy, the shower head was plugged by calcium/lime/whatever so only half of the holes sprayed and sprayed so eratically that even with the too small shower curtain water went down the bathroom door and on the toilet seat and no wonder the room smelled moldy. We tried to go downstairs to swim and my husband was upset because the hot tub wasn't working and I wouldn't swim in the pool. All around the pool was very dirty so there was no way I was getting in the water. Most disturbing, the maid knocked once on the door and within seconds opened it! My husband was in the restroom and I was changing my top. Very disrespectful! The only thing that was okay was the tv worked and the breakfast was okay. Very disappointed in this hotel, the last Holiday Inn we stayed at was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klhg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sljonesharris, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
We would like to take this time and opportunity to apologize to you from your previous stay. We take all guest matters and comments seriously and I want to assure you that the feedback that you provided will not go unnoticed. I have requested further information from you so if you would contact me via email at sljonesharris@yahoo.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband and I used this hotel as a half-way point between New Jersey and Myrtle Beach, SC. We did not want to drive 11 straight hours so we broke up the trip and stopped half way which was in Petersburg, VA. The Holiday Inn Express was a great pick. It was very clean, quiet, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. They do offer a free breakfast, but that wasn't such a good experience. The cheese omelets (the only eggs they offered) were cold and rubbery, the sausage was also cold and rubbery and then there was some unidentifiable dish that I avoided. I tried the bagels but they must have been frozen first because both times they were soggy around the edges. The one thing I finally found that was actually delicious were their cinnamon buns. If you stay there, pass on all the cooked foods and the bagels and reach straight for the cinnamon buns. They are really fantastic! So having those and their coffee and a fresh banana actually made the breakfast a nice start to the day!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed one night on our way to the beach in NC, A/C did not work, it was 86 dgrs. and smelled bad in the rm. We asked for another room and we were placed in a second room which also had A/C issues, but we were finally able to get the temp down to 75 dgrs by the middle of the night. The hallways were disgustingly dirty, appeared to not have been vacuumed in weeks.
Pool and hot tub were closed, which was a disappointment. Vending machine in the hall did not work. Unable to get soda or water. The desk clerk did finally give us a discounted rate, but only after we asked about it the next morning. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baranik309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sljonesharris, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
I do want to take this time and sincerely apologize for your past experience that you had with us here at our hotel. We strive for perfection and want to make sure every single guests has experienced the ultimate hospitality when they visit us. Unfortunately our pool was shut down for the time that you were here but we looked out for the best interest for all of our guests due to safety reasons. We did provide all guests to use a comparable facility that were located right next to the hotel, due to this circumstance. We also have a 24 hour suite shop that has a variety of items which includes soda, ice cream, snacks and food at your cost. Please give us the opportunity to make your next experience a more pleasurable one and we look forward to your visit in the future. Once again we do apologize and look forward to your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed for one night on route to Georgia. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHNorthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 18 in Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - Fort Lee
Holiday Inn Petersburg North - F...
#5 of 8 in Colonial Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
Address: 11979 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where contemporary hospitality meets thoughtful amenities, at the Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee. Located just off I-95 at exit 53 in Colonial Heights, we offer a convenient gateway to Petersburg, Hopewell, Prince George, Dinwiddie, Chester, as well as Fort Lee and Virginia State University. Surround yourself with a diverse range of attractions, from the thrills of Virginia Motorsports Park to the Petersburg National Battlefield and Pamplin Historical Park to the bargains at Southpark Mall. Even if you're in Petersburg/Colonial Heights to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. Savor tasty grill favorites and delightful ambiance in the Mixing Bowl Restaurant, or dine in the privacy of your room. Enjoy the solitude of elegant rooms, featuring stylish décor and the comforts of home. Stay current and connected with high-speed Internet access. Stock your refrigerator with snacks, drinks, and easy-to-prepare meals. Polish up tomorrow's presentation at your spacious work desk with ergonomic chair. Hosting an event? Select from over 6,000 square feet of event space, including 5 elegantly appointed meeting rooms. Trust our on-site event planners to design a flawless catered event. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to the Tri-Cities a success. We're the new Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee Hotel Petersburg
Holiday Inn Petersburg
Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing