We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“great people”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I would like to say I enjoyed my stay here the staff made my stay one of the best ever. They were very helpful,l just wanted to give Jennifer and vey special thanks, she always had a smile on her face and was willing to help you with a smile everyday, thank you Jennifer for you kindness ,and keep up the good work .this holiday Inn Express is a wonderful place to stay the staff is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    53
    29
    27
    18
See reviews for
104
57
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on vacation in Petersburg. We did not realize we were getting a suite so we were pleasantly surprised by this. I like to read and cross-stitch at night while on vacation, but the light was too dim in the sitting room part of the suite for much of either. However, both the sitting room and bedroom boasted large flat-screened TVs. Our room was clean. It had both a microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast was wonderful! Both days there were eggs, sausage, biscuits, and sausage gravy, and the wonderful cinnamon buns Holiday Inn is famous for. We didn't need lunch! The only complaint I have is that there was not a separate sink in the room which would have been nice, only in the bathroom. Also, I don't know if they have some sort of sound-proofing, but it was a very quiet hotel, which I really appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umcrevwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had many issues staying at this location. They charged me for a Reward Night, the lock was bad on my room door and they were out many food items at breakfast including the much coveted sticky buns. the pancake machine was broken as well. The staff was nice, but seemed overworked to me. Room was a little dated, but clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Could have been a fluke,but I would choose another hotel if I had to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drumclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear drumclub,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rates are satisfactory and the rooms were clean, but they had forgotten the soap for the rooms. When I went to the front desk I was told that there would only be one cake of soap would be allocated for each room. Let's see four adults and two children does not one cake of soap per room go very far. The breakfast was good, but the front desk folks also had to double up refilling the cereal dispenser, and the breads. Wonder if somebody called off or that's the way this pace is run. May have try another place on my next trip.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are on a floor with an ice machine. Our 4th floor did not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Norb K,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is great to know you liked the breakfast you had. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had with the room amenities and the service you received. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the HI Express on our way from Maine to North Carolina. We were tired and eager to relax for our final night. We travel frequently and fell we hit the jackpot with this lovely hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was a delight! We were given a 1 bedroom suite which was very comfortable and large. It is two rooms and a nice sofa and chair in one room and the beds in another. The beds were clean and comfy. The refrigerator was a nice plus. The breakfast provided many choices, including a pancake machine, pre-made omelets, fresh fruit, good coffee and the typical cereals and pastries.

We feel it was a great value for all we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet. We always travel with a 3-way bulb, and I did use i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatC330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for four days with several little league teams. The staff was accommodating and the kids all had a great time. Plenty of breakfast was available. We found this to be a good family value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWrelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was the second time that we have stayed in this hotel driving back from SC to NJ. We were given a 1 bedroom suite which was really big for just the two of us. The beds were nice and it was clean. My major complaint was that the room was dark. The lights are not bright enough for my liking, however I would not have a problem staying there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dixiedawni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Petersburg
168 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
481 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
Address: 11979 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where contemporary hospitality meets thoughtful amenities, at the Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee. Located just off I-95 at exit 53 in Colonial Heights, we offer a convenient gateway to Petersburg, Hopewell, Prince George, Dinwiddie, Chester, as well as Fort Lee and Virginia State University. Surround yourself with a diverse range of attractions, from the thrills of Virginia Motorsports Park to the Petersburg National Battlefield and Pamplin Historical Park to the bargains at Southpark Mall. Even if you're in Petersburg/Colonial Heights to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. Savor tasty grill favorites and delightful ambiance in the Mixing Bowl Restaurant, or dine in the privacy of your room. Enjoy the solitude of elegant rooms, featuring stylish décor and the comforts of home. Stay current and connected with high-speed Internet access. Stock your refrigerator with snacks, drinks, and easy-to-prepare meals. Polish up tomorrow's presentation at your spacious work desk with ergonomic chair. Hosting an event? Select from over 6,000 square feet of event space, including 5 elegantly appointed meeting rooms. Trust our on-site event planners to design a flawless catered event. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to the Tri-Cities a success. We're the new Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee Hotel Petersburg
Holiday Inn Petersburg
Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing