We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mom with 2 kids”

Restaurante Plaza Mexico Bar & Grill
Ranked #31 of 116 Restaurants in Petersburg
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mom with 2 kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stopped in for a quick dinner while staying at a hotel near the interstate. Staff was helpful and must have put a rush on our order so that I didn't have to entertain 2 kids for long. Food was great! Thanks!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Way better than others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our 3rd mexican restaurant weve gone to and plaza mexico was by far better than the other two weve tried. our waiter was nice and the food was good i ordered fajita quesadilla and it tasted good if it didnt have the cheese i wouldve loved it next time i go will ask for no cheese. food came out pretty fast, to many things on the menu it should be simplified but the prices are right. will go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panchita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bien vale la pena (Well worth it)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Found this place after looking for a Walmart. Decided to stop in for a late lunch. Host was friendly and sat us right away. Obvious that the restaurant was staffed by Latinos so that in my mind/opinion was a major plus. Translation.......authentic food that tasted great and moderately priced. Ordered the Carne Asada. It came out fairly quick and was hot, not warm. The waiter was very attentive to our table and came by several times to ask if we wanted/needed anything else. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Great family restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kbone1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I came when the restaurant first opened. I was looking for the previous establishment Betto's. When I went inside, I realized it was now Plaza Mexico. However, I decided to stay and try this new business. I was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was and how big of a serving size that was given. I had a cheesy and shrimp enchilada meal. I was very full and satisfied after my meal. The people are friendly and the food is affordable. This is a great place to bring your family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenehalltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewitt, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I gave it an overall 5 Stars -- food was very good, price was reasonable. For local mexican this is by far one of the best, more flavor than most of them. Parking lot was empty for Saturday early lunch so they must be pretty new. Very large dining area, not much for ambiance but the restaurant was clean and spacious.
Waiters were very nice, they entertained the grand baby well. We WILL be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebJean25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Plaza Mexico Bar & Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Restaurante Plaza Mexico Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing