We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek salad and pizza ever!”
Review of Mad Italian

Mad Italian
Ranked #11 of 116 Restaurants in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Pizza, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The finest in Italian, Greek and American Cuisine. Family owned. Proudly serving for Forty Two years.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Greek salad and pizza ever!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Everything on the menu looked so good! I ended up ordering a Greek salad with chicken and my husband got a mini pizza with a salad and a drink for only under $7. The decor was absolutely lovely and it seemed recently renovated. It was spotless, everyone was friendly and we felt right at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Food4thought54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    21
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had the gyro and it was good. My husband had something Italian and his portion was huge He didn't rave about it. The wine they served was the cheap stuff, but it is just a small Italian restaurant and not a fancy Zagat rated NYC establishment. So what should I expect?
Service was fine, waitress was friendly. Decor needs a rehab.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Funny”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Since we got 10% off the diner when mentioning the hotel we decided to eat there. The combination of Greek and Italian was interesting. I had a baked spaghetti with feta and mozzarella that was ok. The bread was good but there was only a very limited choice of wine. The decor was very amusing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YesIwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“WORTH A TRY”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A cute little greek/Italian restaurant with decent food while traveling. Service was great. Alimited but nice wine selection.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank doc491002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We Loved It; We Went Back”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Petersburg VA was to be just an overnight stopover on our way to Savannah. Our hotel recommended the Mad Italian. What a surprising find. The food (lasagna) was excellent. So good, that we did an overnight in Petersburg on the return trip just to have the lasagna again. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the prices were very reasonable. I understand the Mad Italian has been in business for 38 years. That only happens with good food and friendly service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Curt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Italian also viewed

 

Been to Mad Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing