We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deceiving look”
Review of King's Barbecue

King's Barbecue
Ranked #10 of 116 Restaurants in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Abbotsford, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“deceiving look”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the outside, you would think it would have been a bit fancier inside. Was very average. Chef kept chopping something up on one end of counter. Got loud and annoying after while. Ask for table on other end. If you like smoked meat it is great here. The BBQ sauce itself wasn't all that great. Sweet tea was excellent. Ordered a piece of pecan pie but they were all out??

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, MD
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Damn Fine Barbecue!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Rolled in on the way to South Carolina. We had to have some que. wouldn't ya know it, found a great place with North Carolina tang! We had the sampler plate tons of food for 2. Sauce is excellent! Really like the down he atmosphere and accommodations when I asked for some crackle.

Chopped pork, dark meat chicken and top round. All over oak and it's wonderful! On my list of places to come again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rschiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best BBQ AROUND”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Was in town for a week on business and discovered Kings. I was upset that they were closed on Monday and Tuesday but the wait was worth it on Wednesday. I actually went back on Thursday as well for takeout. As soon as you walk in you can smell the smoke, I ordered there sampler and found that the chicken, pork and beef were all terrific. The sauce is very good and you can actually purchase it to take along.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Barbecue”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Driving up the coast, found this place by happy accident, had pulled pork and sliced beef sandwiches. the sandwiches were compressed, like on a cuban sandwich, sauce was tangy, overall good value with great service in a place with character, will return and wish we lived closer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rude,rude,rude”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived on a saturday at about 6pm.We had a party of 5.My husband and I with or two daughters and son in law.First there appeared to be confusion as to who would be our waitress.That finally semi sorted out we gave our drink orders.We frequent this place usually once a week and had never had a problem.We try to get the same waitress as she knows us and is great.(not working this night) we ordered our food with a waitress who looked like we had disturbed her down time.My two daughters food came first(chix tenders and hot dog)we all assumed ours would soon appear.The girls were done eating and ours appeared.Two bbq's and bbq beef plate.Disgruntled that we did'nt all eat at the same time and my husbands fries were undercooked and hard.Staff took the fries and my husband had to ask for them 20 minutes later.Upon paying the bill we complained to the cashier who voiced our complaint to the owner who told herto tell us"you got food and you ate it".My husband and older daughter confronted her and all she kept saying was"sorry you had a bad experience but its still full price".We will never go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to King's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing