We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Apple Pie”
Review of King's Barbecue

King's Barbecue
Ranked #11 of 116 Restaurants in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Try the Apple Pie”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The BBQ is OK (not as good as Saucys) but you can't beat their home made apple pie. Even if you don't have room for desert, get a whole pie to go and enjoy it at home with your family. Good home made vegetable soup also.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaRedHatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“a local legend”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

this is the surevuuving restaurant of a former 4 s tore chain. Its been around for ages. Very dated interior but its what the older clientele prefers - NO CHANGE. Good platter of minced pork, sliced beef, and bbq chicken. The best thing they oiffer is a home made vegetable soup. Its a destination spot for folk who grew up eating here and a place to meet and socialize.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent barbecue!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

King's is great at what they do best, which is barbecue. If you are expecting anything fancy like a wine list or extensive side dishes, take your business elsewhere. King's is a great value. We each had a small barbecue dinner for $6.95, which included what I thought was a large portion of meat, two sides, and biscuits and hush puppies. I would recommend sticking with the traditional fries and cole slaw sides. My husband and daughter ordered sweet potato sticks, expecting sweet potato fries. What arrived was breaded sweet potato pie filling that had been fried. The barbecue is divine and the biscuits and hush puppies bring back memories of a Southern childhood. King's does not serve alcohol and this may be a game-changer for some. Take note of the tobacco plants growing out front.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marthadoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Campbell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“trip”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Very good food service was slow but it was still very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank scrappy881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding, food, service, and atmosphere!!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I like this restaurant because they let you pick which table you want to sit at. They immediately take your drink order, and bring you hot rolls, and hush puppies. I ordered the barbeque beef plate which was the large size and only 10 dollars. It is alot of food. They ask you how you want it cooked and then they bring it to you exactly the way you wanted it. My server kept my glass full at all times and consistently checked on me. My server was very friendly. The barbeque was moist, not dry and just the perfect temperature. I left this restaurant feeling like I should be in a coma because I ate so much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smthiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to King's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing