We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the neatest place around!”
Review of Hiram Haines Coffee & Ale House - CLOSED

Hiram Haines Coffee & Ale House
Cuisines: American
Good for: Special occasions
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Clarksville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just the neatest place around!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a wonderful place for a nice bite to eat! The sandwiches are great, the atmosphere is cozy, and the staff is always wonderful! The history of the actual building only adds to the experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chicken salad”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were getting our hair done at the nearby LeRouge Hair Lounge and asked our stylist where we could get a quick bite to eat. Without hesitation she said Hiram Haines and suggested the chicken salad. We took her advice and did not regret it. The chicken salad was absolutely delicious as was the dessert. Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H0kieGal0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing little coffee shop!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Thank you to the staff at Hiram Haines! The food was delicious and the teas and coffees were amazing! Fast and friendly service and a quiet little place to settle in with a good book or meet up with friends! Loved the Poe atmosphere!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank eve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, VA
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After riding around the battlefield on our bikes we were looking for coffee, both hot and cold.
We were pleasantly surprised at the fabulous coffee shop - such a visual delight and the cold coffee was great, and my husband's french press coffee was excellent. Be sure to look up when you go into the back room.
Wish I lived nearby, I'd try chicken salad which the other reviewers said was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Book and a Meal”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I enjoy this little spot in Petersburg. When I first went, it was more of a bookstore with dessert and coffee. Now, it's a small restaraunt with a few books. However, I always end up with some of the best dessert and a book. The books are very reasonably priced and so is the food. I've never had a full meal, but I enjoyed eating the Belgian Mousse Pie this time around. It was one of the best pies I'd ever eaten. My boyfriend also enjoyed the Hazelnut coffee. This is a great weekend hangout for those that don't like the party scene as well as a good night cap before heading in on a weeknight. The atmosphere is mostly for intellectual adults. If you're an Edgar Allen Poe fan, this your place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenehalltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiram Haines Coffee & Ale House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing