We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil War Battle Comes Alive”

Petersburg National Battlefield Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Petersburg National Battlefield Tour by Segway
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Petersburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Civil War Battle Comes Alive”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This park is a must see before you take the Petersburg Tour of all the places that make up the last 10 months of the war. It all comes together - be sure and take the time to visit the Siege Museum on Bank Street. All rangers at the park are very knowledgable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaRedHatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    94
    26
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The visitor center is a must to watch the short film and see some artifacts that need to be kept inside. The east tour is the best one offering more sites to stop. I'd skip the west as it offers little and the route wasn't clearly marked.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FLgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Petersburg National Battlefield”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not much has changed here in the past 45 years that I have been visiting this park. The Rangers remain very helpful and knowledgeable in researching family soldiers who fought and died or were hospitalized as a result of the countless battles around Petersburg.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Real Learning Experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

First, make sure you have the right address! If you are using your GPS, you will end up at the Ranger Station, instead of the Visitor Center. The signage on I-95 is very helpful. Be prepared once you arrive to have an interesting tour and learn a lot.
I strongly recommend the driving tour after watching the movie at the visitor center. There is one stop that is especially fascinating. A volunteer has built up one of the forts in the manner that it really was during the Civil War. He has rebuilt the earthworks including the logs and it definitely makes the concept easier to understand than just seeing the remains of the earthworks that now seem to just be a small rise after all these years.
There are a number of trails to walk and enjoy.
The signage and audio presentations at the battle of the Crater make that stop really interesting.
If you are going to be in the Petersburg area, it is well worth spending an afternoon at the battlefield park!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ca_davies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Revisiting a major historical sight and childhood memories”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I first visited this battlefield and the Crater when I was six years old and living in Petersburg.. My interest in history, particularly American History, became a passion. I made my first trip back this summer after retiring from a 34 year career in teaching with an emphasis on American History and Government. :) Visitors can see the short movie and take a tour. My husband and I opted to walk the memorable grounds ourselves. The history of the Civil War came alive again. The fees are minimal. We have an national park pass.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunsetovergulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petersburg National Battlefield Park also viewed

 

Been to Petersburg National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing