We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The historical significance of this site is impressive to witness firsthand.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petersburg National Battlefield Park

Petersburg National Battlefield Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Petersburg National Battlefield Tour by Segway
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The historical significance of this site is impressive to witness firsthand.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The park is phenomenal. The sites are well marked and the access is terrific. The one downside was the rudeness of the park rangers at the Visitors Center. We felt that we were putting them out by asking them questions. Don't they actually work for us? They were not going to let us in because they did not have change for a $20!

Helpful?
Thank bneal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    86
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
centralpa.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice battlefield Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

First time visit to Petersburg battlefield. In visitor center, see the film, it's very informative, nice walks/rides in this park.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank justsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Siege of Petersburg in the Shadows of Other Battles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

I have mixed opinions about the Petersburg National Battlefield Park. Obviously, the crater is the main attraction visitors are familiar with, and the main reason for visiting the park. Like all Civil War battlefields, it is very pleasant to walk around and see the remnants of earthworks and fortifications. However, apart from the crater, there isn't anything too compelling about the battle and, in my opinion, lacks the charm of other more interesting battles. Shiloh is almost haunting. You can feel the battle happening around you at Gettysburg. Vicksburg is intimidating. Manassas is small but quaint.

Petersburg is a front more than a battlefield and the siege took so long that I think it losses some character and charm that the other battlefields have. I am not saying Petersburg was not important or not worth a trip, but it just does not give that unique experience that makes the visit memorable. All in all, it wouldn't surprise me that Civil War buffs would be more likely to come away disappointed than people with just a basic interest in the Civil War.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainVascoDeGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't pass up the park tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We spent two days at the various sites of the Petersburg Battlefield and were enlightened and moved by the park tour guides, especially Grant at the Eastern Front Tour, who had some of the party in tears as he described the misery of the extended battle (6/21/11) and Gary at Cedar Point Cemetery who explained this poignant burial ground in fascinating detail on 6/22/11.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanmarjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great interest to kids and grandparents alike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We took our grandchildren, 8 and 10 years old, to visit the Petersburg National Battlefield during their Spring Break. Don't miss the educational film at the Visitor's Center that explained the Battle of the Crater. We took several walks in the Battlefield Park. The first was to see the "Dictator"--a huge canon. The kids loved seeing the tunnel opening and the crater site. Amazing at how close the opposing armies were to each other! It was a great tour. We took lots of pictures. Next we will visit Appomattox Manor, Lincoln's headquarters, in Hopewell which is also part of the Civil War park.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank HaveChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petersburg National Battlefield Park also viewed

 

Been to Petersburg National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing