We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Hampton standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Hampton standard”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed on the 3rd floor and the hallway had the moldy smell and felt damp.
The water coming from the shower was rusty on the first time. Windows in the room very dirty.
Wifi worked well. Location was good, a lot of restaurants close by and shopping as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riitta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sljonesharris, Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be

Thank you,
Shaneika Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    131
    63
    28
    14
See reviews for
157
175
38
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hampton Inn lived up to its promise of a clean, family oriented hotel. Our experience was the best in all of the years we have been travelling south. Thank you front desk for making us feel welcome. One problem, and it was immediately rectified. This was done with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 82nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collings Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Off of 95, poor choice of restaurants at this exit.Front desk staff friendly, lobby and room very clean but beds needed new mattress. Breakfast area not clean, trash built up, coffee and food items not refilled when running low. Very disappointed, this is not your typical Hampton Inn. We always stay at Hampton or Hilton properties, definitely would not return to this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sljonesharris, Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
First I would like to thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Petersburg for your travel accommodations. However, I am sorry that your breakfast experience was not satisfactory. I have spoke with my breakfast staff about this issue and I can guarantee proper service if you and other guest decide to stay with us . Breakfast at times can become very busy, and trying to keep up with the replacement of items and provided Hampton Inn's top notch customer service can become stressful. However i do understand your concern and it is in process of being corrected. Once again I do appreciate your honest review, and for choosing the Hampton Inn for your accommodation, and do wish you continue to stay with us.

Thanks in advance
Hampton Inn Petersburg Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped half way between Charleston and Northern NJ as we wanted to break up the 12+ hour road trip. This was the perfect, most convenient place with many places to fill up both your gas tank and stomach for a night stop over. You can tell that this is a big "1-night" stop over place as it served it purpose. It did the trick, breakfast was ok, and everything was pretty clean. A good inexpensive overnight hotel during a road trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was satisfied with accomodations except for the lack of ethernet connection in room and no dinner available. I would still stay here again if in the area. Clean rooms and friendly staff as expected at Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

On our way up I-95, we stopped in Petersburg, VA so that we could visit the Museum of the Civil War Soldier. The Hampton Inn was convenient, so we booked a room for the night (even though we had a "negative" experience the night before at another Hampton Inn). This stay, however, restored our faith and confidence in the chain. The room was fresh and clean; the A/C worked; and their continental breakfast was exceptionally good (have you ever had cheese omelets and fresh bacon?)!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbinsesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Clean, pleasant motel along I-95. Easy to get to and find off interstate highway 95. Easy check-in with efficient knowledgeable staff person. Good breakfast except for fake scrambled eggs. Internet service available-free to Hilton Honors members. Did not do any sightseeing in this area although battlefield is close-by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 18 in Petersburg
162 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark Mall
Hampton Inn Petersburg-Southpark...
#2 of 8 in Colonial Heights
339 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee

Property: Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
Address: 11909 South Crater Road, Petersburg, VA 23805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet outskirts of town, Hampton Inn Petersburg-Ft. Lee is located 6 miles south of Petersburg, conveniently positioned within easy access to I-95, I-85, and 295. We are within minutes of the historical downtown district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee Hotel Petersburg
Petersburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing