We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok............but most were good!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Petersburg
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Petersburg
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I had to stop at this hotel on my way down to Myrtle Beach SC. The overall stay was good but only two complaints: the room smelled funny. It had like a funky smelly to it. Then the outdoor pool had all kinds of dirt and debris in it. Who knows what's in that pool. I didn't think they cleaned it out. Overall the staff were nice and they had nice families there. It really is a good place overall.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCluver1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

Disappointing stay. We've been in a few Comfort Inns, and this was the worst. The "welcome" at the front desk was hardly welcoming, the lobby was dirty, they were out of free cookies and brochures of Petersburg Area attractions (I walked next door to the Hampton Inn and got the brochure there - the brochure is *excellent* by the way). The room was average, fairly run down, but smelled of smoke despite being a non-smoking room. A plus is that they do offer some larger rooms, so they can handle groups of six in one room (two queens + foldout couch). Complimentary breakfast was okay (standard fare - cereal, toast, make-your-own waffles, juice, coffee) but was housed in a cramped, dirty corner of the lobby area. Good location - easy striking distance to Petersburg and Richmond area attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I was on the return trip from FL. to NY and checked in 9/23 with my friend. Checked out the following am and signed a credit card receipt fo $60.49 total. I used a coupon from the Skippers Welcome Center booklet . The $60.49 was inclusive of all taxes etc. that are shown on the check out sheet. Arrived home later that day and wife was looking at our credit card online statement when she noticed the Comfort Inn put through a temp charge in the amount of $71.38 so I immediately called and was told by the desk person on duty my credit card added the $10.89 to the bill. Told her my wife and I travel quite a bit and unless it is a purchase in a foreign country I never heard of such a thing. On the way to FL. we stayed at a Comfort Inn in SC and what I signed for is exactly what went on my credit card as a pending transaction. She would do nothing so i contacted my BOA Visa and asked them if they changed policy and no suprise the answer was no. I then called the Comfort Inn back and informed the desk person it was the hotel that added the charges and to correct the ??error??. She said only the manager Beverly could do that and she would be in the following day at 11 am. I was going out of town the following day so my wife called and asked to speak to Beverly and no suprise she was transferred to voice mail where she left a message informing the manager of the ??error?? and that this was fraud. She asked that the manager contact her and if she did not hear from her at the end of the day we would file a report of fraud to the VA Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Manager never called. My wife also contacted the manager at the Welcome Station in Skippers where I picked up the magazine with the coupons for hotels etc. to alert her to what happened. 2 days later and 4 long distance calls later the pending amount on the Visa now reads the correct amount. Makes us wonder how many other people have had their credit cards overcharged and either they didn't notice it or gave up trying to resolve the problem. I would avoid staying here due to this scam.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
Thank petpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We pulled into Petersburg as the overnight point on our drive from Florida to Massachusetts, and stopped here because it was the best value in the coupon book we picked up at the rest area. It looks like some refurbishing has been done as the pictures of the place on the web site show different furnishings from those in our room.

This was a good place to stay the night. Beds were comfortable, the pillows were exceptional. It did take a few minutes to figure out the heat (as someone else suggested, directions would be nice), but it did make the room comfortable. Some faint smell of cleaning products in the room, but not as bad as some places.

Breakfast the next morning was a bit above average. Bagels, danish, cereal, hard boiled eggs. They have a waffle station in the opposite corner from the buffet setup, but I didn't notice it until I already had my food.

All in all, an average place, which is exactly what I would expect for the money. There are many similar properties in Petersburg, so check around for the best deal.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

My husband and I spent one night in the comfort inn. We had a coupon so we got a little better deal. As you enter the lobby it makes a good first impression.However as we made our way to the room on the first floor we noted unpleasant scent in the hallway. The carpet is old and in need of replacement. Our room had a very strong chlorine scent which bothered me. I opened the window to air the room out. The room was of a fairly nice size with two double beds. The bathtub was deep which I like for soaking after a day of walking. We accessed the wireless network so no problems there.

Comfort Inn guarantees your satisfaction or they make it right. However we didn't know until after a night's sleep on the matresses that they were uncomfortable. Also the airconditoning is hard to regulate as the unit is not well marked with directions.
We didn't sleep well but we are senior citizens. Younger people wouldn't notice as much. At check out the young woman asked how our stay was. I replied it was o.k. but the mattresses were uncomfortable so we didn't sleep well. No reply or acknowledgement of my observation. I thought why bother to ask if you aren't going to acknowledge it.

The breakfast was adequate with fruit, cereal,milk,juice,coffee,hard-boiled eggs, and waffles. The eating area was pleasant with flat screened televisions. Also nice was a complimentry newspaper. They also have a business center though I didn't us it.

The entrance doors are not automatic so you struggle to get out the door with your suitcases.

I would recommend to management to have a different product used to clean rooms then cholorine. Many people have allegries to strong scents. Also change out the carpet as this makes a bad first impression. Also provide instructions on the use of the air conditioning units. I think the property has great potential but is not living up to it. The desk personnel do not make the greatest impression. First impressions are important and make a difference in how the guest rates the property.
Also make sure the check out personnel are instructed how to handle someone's complaint. Ignoring it totally is not a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

This is a very curious property. It's a wierd balance of shabby and better than expected. This hotel's location is convenient to major highways, attractions and there are loads of restaurants within walking distance The facility has strong curb appeal and there is an immediate sense of value on first glimse. After spending two nights here, however, it's clear that the mangement has yet to fully understand their purpose: manage! It is very apparent that in-depth housecleaning and building maintenace are given a low priority. The room and common areas are superficially clean, with plenty of "grunge" evident in all of the corners and on the windows. The pool is in need of a major refurbishment, including paint and having lights on when open well after dark. While the staff was friendly, the "host" present for the first breakfast service was indifferent to oveflowing wastebaskets, dirty tables and absent service items.It did seem rather odd that painting of the walls in the dining area had to occur at the same tme. On a better note, some of the room's amenities were a cut above: Soft bath towels, large mini-fridge, up-scale bedding/furniture and a flat screen TV. Also, It was a well above-average outside temperature day and the A/C was exceptional. These positives did not overshasow the relitiy of a relentlessly dripping faucet in the chipped tub, or the mold associated with the dampness. Perhaps it was telling when the usual, "How was everything?" was not asked at checkout. Perhaps management already knows. It's unfortunate, as this property has strong potential and, with the right direction, could be a much better destination.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

We checked in on our way to Myrtle Beach after checking the price at the Holiday Inn Express ($140/night). We paid $69/night. The hotel room was large. The highspeed Internet was free. It was fairly clean and smoke-free. It wasn't anything too fancy but we found it a great value for our money. Nothing yucky or scarry about it!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tripreviewer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Petersburg, VA
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Petersburg
176 reviews
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Petersburg

Address: 12001 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7400
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Petersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn, a Petersburg hotel minutes from Virginia State University. Perfectly located off Interstate 95, the Comfort Inn® hotel is just 10 miles from Virginia State University and 15 miles from Virginia Motorsports Park. This Petersburg hotel is less than 13 miles from the National Museum of the Civil War Soldier and Pamplin Historical Park, recognized as one of America's premier historical attractions and one of the most innovative Civil War history parks in the country. The famous Petersburg National Battlefield is also nearby. Several specialty shops, restaurants and cocktail lounges are in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Petersburg Hotel Petersburg
Petersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing