We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many times before.... But NEVER again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Petersburg- Fort Lee/South
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
NW NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Many times before.... But NEVER again!”
Reviewed August 21, 2009

It is with great disapointment that I write this.... our family has stayed at this Days Inn Many times over the last few years. We make a few trips a year from NJ to SC and this is right in the middle - so it has been our one night stop-over on may occasions. We have even traveled with a group of family - ranging in age from 6 to 90 - including our dog - it's never been a fancy place - but fair accomodations at a fair price and easy on and off from I95 - and the kids (when they are with us) can even take a dip in the pool.

In March two of us made a very last minuet decision to go look at some too-good-to-be-true property for sale in SC - and as soon as we decided to leave - I got on the computer and booked our room at the Days Inn. We got in at about 1am - got checked in quickly and headed for our room. It was the usual - not great - but not gross(we didn't think) and we were SO sleepy we went right to sleep. We got up and drove to SC the next morning - spent the day with the realtor and drove back to our room in Petersburg that night - again not getting in until nearly 1am. Since I am frequenly the one up roaming around long after others fall asleep - I was horrified when I came out of the bathroom and saw a creature scurry in the light of the open door. Not being completely bug phobic - I thought maybe something had snuck in when we were moving our things in - so I grabbed my flashlight to see where it went. Then it started.... everytime I shined my light in a corner - more scurrying.... I was completely creeped out - but it was now well after 2am - and we had a long drive home in the AM - SOMEBODY had to get some sleep. So I quietly began making my way around the room steping on and smacking every ROACH I saw scamper away from my flashlight. When I realized that our trash can which had a few soda cans and empty mini chip bags in it was now home to about a dozen of the buggers - I grabbed the can and dragged it out the door onto the sidewalk and tied the bag shut. When I came back in - the crunch fest of death continued for another 30min until I didn't think I saw anything else moving (or maybe I was just too exhausted to see straight anymore). I then turned on all the lights and tried to go to sleep. I have been on mission trips in 3rd world countires in fairly primitive conditions - and was never as creeped out as I was that night. And at the same time - sad - because this was a place we had stayed many times..... a destination of sorts where we thought we could get a decent rest - in a decent room - and a decent breakfast in the am.... but ROACHES - UGH! I now wondered how many other times we had been there - had we just slept through them creeping around the room? Needless to say I didn't get any rest and was useless in sharing the driving on the way home. In the AM - when we got up - we took the tied shut trash can bag from the can outside - with the roaches STILL ALIVE in it - to the office to show them what had tormented us in the night. We got an apology - and HALF of our room charge waived! HALF - we had ROACHES alive and dead on the floor all over the room - and they only would credit HALF of our stay! Needless to say - we will not be returning - for our big family trip this August we have picked a new place - time will tell if it becomes our new regular place.... but I think if it's ROACH free - it's got a good shot!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereUAreNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    42
    60
    53
    87
See reviews for
127
63
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia CANADA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We met up with other couples from Canada so we could all travel on to Myrtle Beach. We stayed up all night drinking by the pool and no one bothered us. It is a nice place for an over night stop but there is nothing in the area but a gas station and crappy restaurant across the street. The area looks like many businesses have closed down but it is just off the I-95 and is a good and clean hotel to crash for the night. The free internet did not allow access to sites like facebook or gmail and others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed ant the Days Inn Fort Lee South on August 18, 2008. This budget hotel is a new hotel. The room was large. It had a table and two chairs. It had a coffee maker. It also had a thermostat controlled heat / ac which made the night sleep much quieter. The t v was flat screen with at least 70 channels. The property has 2 outside pool and a play area for children. The ample breakfast had coffee, juice, pastry, fruit, cereal, and waffles with a full time attendent. This hotel is above average for it's price range.

  • Liked — Clean room and quiet night sleep.
  • Disliked — Not many restaurants nearby.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georden7 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed here just to grab some sleep on our way home from Orlando Florida to Pennsylvania. One thing I learned after making this drive twice is don't think a hotel is good just because the lobby looks nice! The hotel was a good price 59.39 for 2 double beds and a pull out sofa. We had a non smoking room that smelled like someone just smoked in it for days before we got there. Gross! The beds were ok and the sheets and linens looked ok, but the place was generally a mess. Hey, what do you want for $60? Breakfast was free and pretty good. Hot sausage and biscuits, waffles, muffins, cereal and coffee, tea, orange juice and even toast with jelly. I don't think I would take my chances here again though.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — smoke smell in room that was non smoking
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traciecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, PQ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

What a dump this place is. The room was filthy, furniture was broken and worn, and beds bent out of shape. I had a room with a sleeper-sofa and the bed sheets weren't even changed before we checked-in. I have stayed in this area before and and the Comfort Inn across the street a much better choice.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcarzoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

An overnight stay on a trip South - pretty decent place for the price. Free Internet access in the lobby, ok breakfast and several informal dining spots nearby

  • Liked — value for the price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed here on our was to Myrtle Beach for the second year in row. Rooms are clean and not very expensive.

Breakfast bar have toast, dunnuts, muffins and WAFFLES you make your self ! Our kids loved to make there our waffles.

BTW: Pumpkin Restaurant is close, but there is a family restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matqcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 18 in Petersburg
173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#9 of 18 in Petersburg
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Petersburg- Fort Lee/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Petersburg- Fort Lee/South

Property: Days Inn Petersburg- Fort Lee/South
Address: 12208 S Crater Rd, South on I-95 Exit 45, Petersburg, VA 23805-7442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Petersburg- Fort Lee/South 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Petersburg- Fort Lee/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Fort Lee South Hotel Petersburg
Petersburg Days Inn
Days Inn Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing