We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Experience We Have Ever Had!!!!!!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Dark ring around toilet (black)!
Splattering all over mirror from previous guests!
Shower head crutty!
Grass all over floor!
Uncarpeted area - sticky and dirty!
Big cigarette hole in sheet!
Pillows with bad odor, not from cigarettes!
Hairs on floor in shower area!
Gnats flying around!
We were unable to sleep or shower! We will never patronize any of your facilities (motel or restaurant) again!!!!!!!
We will also advise families and friends to do the same!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
10  Thank GAIL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room was very dirty, walls and ceiling had cob webs everywhere. dead bug scrooshed on wall. bathroom smelled or urine, tub and shower cutain was filthy. stains on bedding (comforters and pillow cases). Had it not been so late when we stopped we definitely would have asked for a refund and gone somewhere else, but we had our 3 young children with us and could not bare to load them back in the van and drive to another location after already paying and unloading the van into the room. Will probably not stay at a Howard Johnsons again.
As far as below ratings, there was no breakfast, or business meeting room, or fitness area, so I rated all with a 3

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
10  Thank KRISTA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Smell of urine and vomit on balcony. Conically shaped towel hanging from sprinkler system (incapacitated) Phone cord missing. AND....1.5-2.0 inch brown blob on unwashed pillowcase. Adjacent pillowcase was also unwashed. Filthy throughout. Refund denied due to the fact that we had been in the room longer than 2 minutes. Suggest others contact health department, fire department and police as I have done. I wonder if someone has become ill by staying there. Wyndham Hotel Group, PO Box 4090, Aberdeen, South Dakota 57401 should be contacted by others. AVOID!!! This place is a disaster!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

From the lobby to the room...this place is run down and smells horrible
Part of the outside sign is broken and covered with a tarp....some of the exterior is falling off...the grass is knee high and worse in some areas
This place was so awful that we cancelled and had to find another place to stay
We stayed at the Days Inn across the highway. It was an older hotel, but very clean. The service was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
9  Thank LAURAANNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We only stopped here because we had been driving 10 hours with 2 little ones and it was late. It stunk of smoke - in a non-smoking room. There was blood stains on the sheets and comforter, cigarette holes in the comforter and grafitti on the walls. The guy moved us to another room because they didn't have clean sheets to give us and the next room had stained sheets as well. We all slept on our dirty laundry to avoid touching the beds. ABSOLUTELY REVOLTING, disgusting, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank redrac2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed there because it was pouring so hard and could't see to drive any farther. It was smelly, filthy, and expensive. I paid $74. including tax and felt I was totally ripped off. I would never stay there again. Bathrooms were horrible, beds were awful, old TV. This place hasn't been updated for 30+ years. And absolutely no ice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel smelled of Urine. There were bedbugs in the room and the floors were filthy. We immediately checked out and requested a refund but the manager, Mr. Shah, charged us a one night penalty for not checking out within the standard cancellation time. Absolutely Disgusting in every way!

Room Tip: Go anywhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank erinw440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Petersburg
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
4.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#8 of 18 in Petersburg
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Stony Creek
Hampton Inn Stony Creek
#1 of 2 in Stony Creek
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 12205 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7442 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Petersburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range: $37 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Petersburg Hotel Petersburg
Howard Johnson Hotel Petersburg
Petersburg Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing