We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stop”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stop”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I am happy I stayed here yesterday evening. The rooms were clean, good price and easily located. I will definitely stop here next time I'm traveling on my way to florida.

Room Tip: Easily off the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quicny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    19
    31
    99
See reviews for
79
34
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

When we checked in, I noticed a sign that said refunds would only be given for 15 minutes. This should have been a warning. We left the lobby and got to our room, which was quite dirty and smelly - par for the course, from what's here. We went back to the lobby and asked for a refund, only to be told that we had been checked in for 25 minutes - a lie. When my wife pointed out that we had just left the lobby, we we told that we were lying and not curteous. This opened the floodgates on our anger, and even presenting my credit card receipt did not convince the manager. Finally, the maintenance guy agreed that is was dirty, and we got the refund. While waiting for the maintenance guy to get back, another couple came in and said they had no power in their room -€gain, typical.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MatthewDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Keep driving! If it weren't that we had two very tired grandsons, we would have left. I would not recommend this filthy place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CAMerrill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I was traveling to our condo in florida for spring break with my kids. This place is good for its REASONABLE price. It didn't have breakfast, but the clerked explained to us they priced $10 cheaper to compensate so we could get breakfast on the road. If your looking for a fancy hotel with all the gilts and glamor, this isn't it. this is just a good place to spend the night shower and his the road. its location is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

On March 24, 2012, I rented the conference center for a special event. The management was very helpful in providing assistance. The conference center is spacious with elegant design. The rent was reasonable and I was overall pleased.

J. N. M.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNM_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I drove some 750 miles from FLA. to get here.... After signing in, I went to the hallway to get to this " prison cell".....ceiling was falling down in the hallways, which was about 6 inches from the top of my head.....I didn't even get into the room when I saw my first roach...That said, I went straight back to "levi" ( black, hmmm ), and demanded my money back. He refused, and I left for the Days Inn across the street ( only a half of a dump )... I would not stay in the AREA even if you paid me, again.....

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank biged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Horrible place to stay. Room was dirty, air did not work well at all, tv was broke(sound but no pic)uncomfortable beds, next to nothing pillows, business center is a joke with no working internet and broken printer-useless, the restaurant is closed, no breakfast even though it is stated on the website. front desk staff was friendly. not their fault the place is a dump

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drurybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 18 in Petersburg
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#9 of 18 in Petersburg
34 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South/Southpark
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond South...
#1 of 8 in Colonial Heights
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 12205 S Crater Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-7442 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Petersburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Petersburg Hotel Petersburg
Howard Johnson Hotel Petersburg
Petersburg Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing