We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil War history continued!”

Pamplin Historical Park
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Featuring the engaging National Museum of the Civil War Soldier, Tudor Hall Plantation, a recreated Military Encampment, and some of the best preserved earthworks in existence, this 424-acre park relives the life and times of a soldier during America's "War Between the States."
Reviewed May 2, 2014

After visiting the National Museum of the Civil War Soldier we stepped outside into Pamplin Historical Park. It was early April and rainy so tours and interpreters were not around. We visited a plantation home, a fortification exhibit and other buildings of interest to get a feel for living in that time. They also have several trails you can walk but because of the weather we did not. We did find our way to the Battlefield Center which is a small museum in the park. To us the neatest thing in the museum was the 3-D civil war pictures. Most people have seen some civil war pictures but not like this. Put on the 3-D glasses and wow! It gives you a more intimate feeling as to how it would feel to have been there. Just a great experience!

Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

We're sorry the weather didn't work out for you but are glad you got to tour most of the Park. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"civil war soldier"
in 40 reviews
"plantation home"
in 10 reviews
"tudor hall"
in 10 reviews
"rifle demonstration"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 12 reviews
"private museum"
in 6 reviews
"living history"
in 10 reviews
"audio tour"
in 13 reviews
"slave quarters"
in 9 reviews
"historical park"
in 10 reviews
"state of the art"
in 6 reviews
"indoor museum"
in 4 reviews
"older children"
in 3 reviews
"camp life"
in 7 reviews
"spent several hours"
in 3 reviews
"interesting information"
in 3 reviews
"colonial williamsburg"
in 3 reviews
Filter

151 - 155 of 253 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

I visited this park several weeks ago with a couple of friends, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lovely park, excellent exhibits, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Very easy to find. Highly recommended, especially for Civil War buffs.

1  Thank AuntieAllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a must, I would say this is like the Disney World of the Civil War. Great walking area because you can see the earth works very well as well as the farm house & slave homes. The museum was very informative.

1  Thank douglass1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thanks so much for your thoughtful response!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

An excellent experience. Very sympathetic to the soldier's experience on both sides. Trails are an easy walk with ample interpretive displays. Highly recommended for all. Also great for school groups and Scouts.

Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Wonderful! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for taking the time to draft a thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We visited last weekend and it was a wonderful experience. So informative and interesting. Our favorite part was walking the grounds and going through the houses. The sheep and baby goats were so cute. I loved walking and seeing how people lived so long ago. It was really amazing. The museum was very informative. We saw some really neat bullets and items from the war. The staff were friendly and helpful. A great place to visit. I would highly recommend. It was very educational and a fun experience. Definitely worth a visit!

1  Thank Sunny0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Great, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for taking the time to write a positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamplin Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Pamplin Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing