We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was medicor at best and house keeping needs a polish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Central Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast was medicor at best and house keeping needs a polish”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We slept well and found food for beakfast, but the room and especially the beds seemd to be trown together and the sheets and comforters were very wrinkled and kinda thrown together. The breakfast lacked bacon or sasuage and the eggs were discusting. We enjoy a hot breakfast but the selection was limiting, the oatmeal was too watery to eat and the hot items were not paletable. We ate sara lee pasteries and bagels, but wanted more.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlbertZeroK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_peva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I'm sorry that our breakfast wasn't up to your standards. I will speak with my housekeeping staff. We do hope that you will visit us again if your ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    107
    54
    41
    37
See reviews for
201
65
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, nc
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

we walk in 4 hotel in ashville, va they said there were no room we keep driving to comfort inn finally we go there 4 am the guy jason work there night stift help us out .. and sure enough we get the room 312 i think she were sleep tilll 930 am we get up thursday morining may 9th we head it home...bed sure was so comfort and pillow was so soft i love it ..
i think i left my black back pack in the room with baby diaper etc,,,

Room Tip: shuld have break from 7 am till 10 am we misss our breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_peva, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We are glad to see you had a good stay with us. It's always nice to here our guest say they had a good sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is only supposed to be about four years old but it must see a lot of business because it's pretty worn already. The furniture is in need of replacment soon and it doesn't seem like they paid much attention to detail when it was built. The bathroom sink faucet is set back so far that it's next to impossible to wash your hands without bumping into the sink edge. The closet is not deep enough so if you hang any clothes in it, you can't close the door.
When we walked into our suite I immediately noticed two pennies on the floor right in front of the couch, giving the impression that the room hadn't been vacuumed after the previous guest. Other than that, while not spotless, it was fairly clean.
There are only two luggage carts and one of them was about to collapse in a heap.
We used points for this stay but if we had been paying I would have been even less happy with the condition of the place.
The hotel is in a quiet industrial area and once you get a few blocks away you're in what could best be described as a "low rent" district.
The breakfast area is too small with only about eight tables and is not very well laid out but since we're early risers, it was fine. I would imagine it gets pretty crowded at times.
There was no printer in the business center so we had to give our email info at the front desk, have them log in for us and then print our document with the hotel's printer. It worked out but was awkward.
Kaitlyn at the front desk was great. Although she seemed to be working alone and there were a lot of other people checking in when we got there, she remained friendly, helpful and upbeat.
We ate at Betto's, which was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatessquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We always enjoy staying here. Clean, safe, staff is super friendly. I didn't make it to breakfast this trip so I can't comment on that. If you are looking for somewhere in Petersburg or even close... This is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnthegoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed October 18-20, 2011.
Hotel staff is wonderful and accommodating.
Breakfast is your basic free breakfast fare.
Room was clean, bed was extremely comfortable.
There was NO evidence of bedbugs. I comment on this issue for every hotel I review.

There is nothing around here except for a sort of isolated and run down town, and 95 north or south.
The WaWa store/gas station is down the road about a minute, and I'd suggest not venturing too much further for food/gas/entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stfnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Yes;
*Rooms were clean
*Beds were nice

Disappointment

*Breakfast was very limited and far below what we have come to expect from Country Inn.

*Housekeeping, came at 10 AM (check out far before our check out time and we did have a do not disturb sign on door) found it necessary to come in when we were showering and getting ready for the day.
We were going to complain to management but it was management who was direction housekeeping turn the rooms. :(

Giving the current state of our economy that any company who are in the business of hotels hospitality would be as bold as to push paying guest out on to the street with a smile is not a hotel that I will be recommending to my traveling friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thriftstorequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

we slept in this hotel for 1 night on our way to new york from myrtle beach, sc. great service from the front desk upon arrival and free cookies! the rooms were clean and comfortable. the breakfast was great the next day. before our 5 hour drive we dined on fresh waffels, oatmeal, eggs, and pleanty of choices in the morning to fill us up. i would stay here again, perfect stop on our way home!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red0977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Ugo M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg, responded to this review, August 29, 2015
We are very happy to read your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersburg
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Petersburg - Ft. Lee
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg / Dinwiddie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 18 in Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southpark
Comfort Suites Southpark
#3 of 8 in Colonial Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Ragland Mansion B&B and Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg
Address: 130 Wagner Rd, Petersburg, VA 23805-9303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Petersburg
Country Inn & Suites Petersburg Hotel Petersburg
Petersburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing