We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cabin in the woods!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pecos River Cabin

100-year-old, fully restored, full log cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
100-year-old, fully restored, full log cabin
Autumn is glorious, looking up the lane from the cabin The Pecos River, just steps from your front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
100-year-old, fully restored, full log cabin
Autumn is glorious, looking up the lane from the cabin
The Pecos River, just steps from your front door
master bedroom with star-gazing, river-listening skylight
Living room with plenty of seating, flat TV and extensive DVD library
Cozy kitchen, fully equipped
Start on that novel you've been thinkiing about!
Settle in with a good book from the cabin library, where there\'s something for everyone
Take a break from fishing and watch the river run!
Large stone patio, with gas barbecue grill, overlooks the grassy meadow
Nothing like a nap in the hammock on a warm afternoon
A creekside rest stop provides viewing of the horseshoe pit
A meandering creek runs through the property, with its own footbridge
Winter on the Pecos is breathtaking! Bring your snowshoes or just curl up by the fire.
Blue sky above a sparkling snow-covered cabin
The Steller's jays stand out against a snowy background
Winter on the Pecos River
Winter at the cabin is magical with a cozy wood stove and plenty of wood provided
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pecos, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tammy P
1 review
“Great little cabin in the woods!”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for a week and it was wonderful! We caught lots of trout and did some beautiful hiking. The cabin is well stocked and comfortable. We saw wildlife in the yard in the evenings and hummingbirds are everywhere! A fire pit for the cool evenings and a full shower would have been nice but we had an amazing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2017
Tammy and Bill, thank you so much for your comments! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin. I agree it would be nice to have a fire pit. We're working on finding a way to create one without increasing the fire risk. And the shower ... oh my, yes. I love the tub, but our long-term plans include a second bathroom with a real shower!

Thank you again for choosing Pecos River Cabin for your vacation. I look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Warm regards,
Margo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob F
1 review
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pecos River Cabin. The cabin is very comfortable and the host Margo has provided many amenities and oddiments to make the stay pleasant and interesting.

While a small TV and many DVDs are provided, I don't see why anyone would want to watch TV with all the natural beauty outside. Everyone if there is a blizzard, it would be more rewarding to read one of the interesting books available in the cabin.

Sleeping under the skylight is interesting since there is a view of the starry sky and no sleeping in in the morning.

The wifi works well but not fast enough for Netflix, but why would you want to do this in the cabin.

Take care with the high altitude. Even after a day of acclimation, my wife got very sick while hiking on the mountain trail at 9100 feet. The forest is beautiful, but take care about your safety, particularly since the cabin is already 8 miles from cell service, and the hiking paths are several times further away than that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thanks for your review, Bob! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. I especially appreciate your "heads up" to other hikers about the perils of hiking at high altitudes. I'm so sorry for your wife's experience. I'll be sure to advise other guests, beyond what I've included in my Guest Info package.

Thank you again, Bob. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon for some hiking at lower elevations.

Best regards,

Margo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic Perfect Get-Away”
Reviewed December 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin is a dream-come true. It is just perfect. They have it stocked with everything you need for a wonderful time, minus food. The kitchen has all pots, pans, cooking, baking and serving supplies. It is as quaint as can be. It is furnished modestly, but tastefully. There are a lot of nice touches, such as candles, pictures, books, movies, etc. In fact, they have a great supply of movies - some for families, kids and adults to just relax.

The master bed sits under a window, so you can see the stars while sleeping and if it is warm enough, you can open the window and hear the river. The same is for the window over the bathtub. They provide shampoo, condition, etc ... so just come with your clothes and some food ... enjoy! There are even candles to surround the bathtub for a soak.

The cabin has character and charm. We were there when it snowed and the stove kept the place as cozy as ever.

We cannot wait to visit in the summer, as I am sure it will have a completely different feel and we will enjoy the trees in their beauty and the birds.

I recommend this place 100% ... but don't want to compete with other visitors ... ha ha.

Hope this review helps you decide to visit this "little piece of heaven" in the mountains of NM ... beautiful skies, sounds and the footprint of God.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2016
Lisa, thank you so much for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking such good care of the cabin. Let me know when you'd like to check out summer dates and we'll work out the details.
Thank you again Lisa. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Margo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonnie E
Brownwood, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is our second time (not nearly enough) to visit this charming little cabin right near the Pecos River. It is a wonderful little retreat for my wife and I and the fishing is good. It is well equipped with a full kitchen, laundry, bathroom, and the loft bedroom is the best part - with the skylight right over the bed. It was chilly in the evenings but we opened it to be able to hear the river.

The owner is very accommodating and prompt with communicating. She has thought of practically everything, even if you accidently lock yourself out of the cabin.

I highly recommend a stay of a few days or even a week and the couch downstairs will fold out for an additional bed for 2 people.

Very happy indeed!

Lonnie & Melissa Ereman

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The romantic ambience
Liked least: Falling in the cold river (ha ha - it's actually a funny story)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
Thank you so much for your feedback, Lonnie! I'm glad we didn't disappoint. I look forward to welcoming you and Melissa back again soon!
Margo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your great review, and thank you for taking such good care of our cabin! We are very proud of our five-star TripAdvisor rating. Your positive review helps other travelers decide to visit Pecos River Cabin and its surroundings in the beautiful Pecos Wilderness. Word of mouth is definitely the best advertising!
Thank you again for choosing Pecos River Cabin for your get-away.
Margo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
C H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Cozy, Immaculate, Quiet, Riverside Cabin”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the cabin. It was very relaxing, and we loved the rushing of the river, the cabin sits right next to it. The cool breezes, especially when all the windows were opened up on all sides of the cabin. The fishing was great - we used the fishing rods there and caught 1 trout, without trying too hard. If you brought your own gear and traveled a bit up and down the river you would surely catch something! We also enjoyed sitting on the patio for most of our meals and enjoyed the birds!

The cabin is nestled in a bend on the Pecos River in the river valley in the Santa Fe Mountains, right next to the Pecos River with fabulous access for trout fishing. The cabin is surrounded by nature and quiet, except for the beautiful river rushing. It sits beneath the road and with little road noise. It is small and very cozy, the kitchen is well supplied and the grill works well. The upstairs bed sits under a big skylight which lets in a lovely breeze and allows for studying the sky at night and day. Windows open on all sides to keep a lovely breeze coming through the cabin. There are fun games available to play with too.

The cabin has only a bathtub with the normal spigot and a handled sprayer for a shower - European style. It's very nice and relaxing, but a watch out for those who have trouble climbing in and out of a tub. There is another skylight above the tub which is also wonderful. The towels are think and cozy. The cabin has a washer/dryer which is convenient.

Margo was a great remote host, she was very helpful and the documentation she sent on the cabin was thorough and very helpful.

It was a great retreat and we would highly recommend it and plan to return to it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge D
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was my wife birthday week and I'm glad we did stay in this cabin. Very clean, beautiful indoor and outdoor. Highly recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, very clean
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing