We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable, Affordable and Great Coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Inn Brownsville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Texas Inn Brownsville Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Brownsville
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Affordable and Great Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Rose Garden was very nice for not having any reservation. I found it to be clean and comfortable. It had everything I needed for the weekend...bed, lite breakfast, laundry room and near the places I needed to go. I, also, found it would be good for doing business in Brownsville with the Texas Workforce Commission, South Texas Behavioral Health and other Training and Educational Sites and Institutions including BISD and the University of Texas.

Room Tip: Coffee Served 24/7...ground floor near the Roses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose G, Manager at Texas Inn Brownsville Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your feed back and for letting us provide you with our hospitality. Hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed this weekend and got 800.00 dollars stolen by the housekeeper lady will reveal her name later... She accepted she had my daughters Ipod, filed police report, another housekeeping ladey literally abused me verbally, will sue this place and will make them refund me what they stold....If I was you I would not stay there.....I have proof of eveything, tried to talk to the manager but he is a rude man who does not care at all.....police took Ipod away from lady, but still there are 450.00 pending to get back......Not a good place to stay at all...Have pictures of lady but will reveal later that way everyone can see who she is...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maricela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brownsville hotels

Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

... idk what room the people who rave about this place had... our bed was so saggy/creaky, our cable didnt work and they wouldnt fix it, so i had too, our room didnt get touched by hk the entire 5 days.. we had to ask for towels i asked at 9, it was 1130 still no towels.. the room smelled disgusting.. on the bright side the breakfast was good, and the pool looked clean enough (when you hear that this is close enough to south padre, dont stay, just stay on spi)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbaker0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We booked our reservations online based on the pictures on the website. I by no means was expecting a 4 star hotel, but when we arrived and checked in the rooms were no where near what was depicted. Our room was unmade, with shopping bags stacked up in the room. I went back to the office, they switched our room to a room with carpet that was stained, the room smelled bad, the air conditioner was blowing warm air, and was set at the coolest setting possible. We returned to the office, had the charges reversed on our credit card and departed. This is not a place I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dkirtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

I tried booking thru their website. But at the same time I was shopping other hotels in the area. When I went back to book the rate, it said my session had exceeded 30 mins and to start search over. I did. My browser was accepting cookies. But every time I did the room search over, it kept saying my session had expired. (I am very computer savvy - the fault was not at my end and I had no prob like this on other hotel sites)
Want to stay here? Call. Don't use their website...unless you book quick!

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcsflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hondo, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Rooms were clean, neat and just what we were looking for. We wanted to go to South Padre Island without having to pay the island prices and we went to Mexico as well. Took our grandkids to the Gladys Porter Zoo and they loved it. The breakfast was more than continental with hot food as well. The restaurant manager went out of her way to help with the kids and was so friendly she made you feel right at home. Cudos to her for loving her job and letting it show!! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — clean and easy to access
  • Disliked — TV - more channels would be great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockind308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2005

I had to find a hotel in Brownsville for work and had been told some no-so-good things about some nicer places so I went ahead and booked the Best Western based on the favorable reviews on this site.

To be honest, the rave reviews I read seem to be suspect. Yes, the hotel can be considered "clean" (no blatant stains to notice), but the pool was not any better than your typical motel pool. The breakfast was edible but not remarkable. When I arrived at my room after check-in, I was greeted by a strong chemical odor coming from the room, as was my business partner in his room next door. We both had to keep our doors propped open for a while to let the odor dissipate. Also, the parking lot was overrun with large, loud birds that sat in the trees. They were quite noisy and obnoxious. The rooms themselves were passable, but not noteworthy.

I guess for $50 per night, people might be impressed. But if you are reading reviews based on Brownsville hotels popularity standings on this site, be aware that at $50 per night, you still get what you pay for. Don't be fooled into thinking this property is some sort of "oasis" right off the highway.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChicagoAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brownsville hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Brownsville
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brownsville
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownsville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Brownsville
Courtyard Brownsville
#5 of 28 in Brownsville
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Brownsville
Magnuson Hotel Brownsville
#16 of 28 in Brownsville
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Brownsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Texas Inn Brownsville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texas Inn Brownsville Hotel

Property: Texas Inn Brownsville Hotel
Address: 845 North Expressway 77, Brownsville, TX 78520 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Texas Inn Brownsville Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Texas Inn Brownsville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Brownsville
Best Western Brownsville
Brownsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing