We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food but took so long we could have caught our own fish”

Dirty Al's Seafood Market & Cajun Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 496 Restaurants in Brownsville
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was pretty good, but OMG the service was ridiculously slow. We wouldn’t go back even if we had a certificate for a free meal. A group seated next to us sat with their menus for so long they gave up and left. Maybe they’re short-staffed?

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Branwyn_3x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joriu1965, Other at Dirty Al's Seafood Market & Cajun Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thanks for your business , please accept our apologies for not meeting your standards of good service , we don't know exactly what happened that day but we will investigate , we appreciate your input this will help us correct any issues on our operations we hope you change your mind and give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been here previously and everything was great. Including the service and ambient. On our last visit we saw they did some remodeling... which just changed the vibe of the whole restaurant. The remodeling looked like it was done on a small small budget as you can quickly tell imperfections on the mortar and blocks. Also the restaurant feels wayyy to cramped. It was karaoke night and that was way to loud.. Additionally, the service was slow and they kept mistaking our table for another table. Our serve was good but you can tell he had a lot on his plate. The good tastes bland now.. shrimp are smaller then before and lack a good spice to them. The stuffed jalapeños were a solid 2/10 too much stuffing and just not enough shrimp, jalapeño, or cheese. I ordered the fried fish and shrimp 3/10. One thing I would say tho is that their fries are still good!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Jtalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joriu1965, Other at Dirty Al's Seafood Market & Cajun Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

we want to thank you for your visit and wish to apologize for not meeting your standards of good food this time your input will help us fix any hiccups in our operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We enjoyed our visit here during a trip that had us stop for a night in Brownsville. The strip along the main highway does have lots of restaurants, but most of it is chain offerings and fast food. Dirty Al's is a Cajun seafood place that can accomodate groups of all sizes and has good food for a decent price.

Our server was friendly but not quite as efficient as we'd have liked, but it was busy that night. For example we needed an extra set of silverware; after a couple minutes one of our party just walked up to the area where most of the servers were receiving the food and just had one of them hand us a set directly.

The menu has a lot of variety; I liked my mojo de ajo fish, and someone else in our group really liked their fish tacos. And although seafood is the primary offering here, the person in our party that ordered a big cheeseburger was very happy with it.

The atmosphere is upbeat and there are TVs all over the place showing sports games. We'd be fine with coming back on a future trip.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BernieDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joriu1965, Owner at Dirty Al's Seafood Market & Cajun Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

we want to thank you BernieDy for sharing your experience , we are happy the you had a good time at our location , we hope we can be more efficient next time , we hope to see you soon , and thanks again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

We were told to get oysters at Dirty Al’s good advice reasonable prices and fast service people were friendly but the building is older

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank F4703HBkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joriu1965, Owner at Dirty Al's Seafood Market & Cajun Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

I want to thank you Ken S for your recent visit we are glad that you had a good experience and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

They have some massive fried seafood botana platters that are delicious and hard to beat! Dont forget to stop on by during Mondays 50 cent oyster special during oyster season!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank TonyG_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joriu1965, Owner at Dirty Al's Seafood Market & Cajun Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

We want to take the time to thank you Tony for your visit we're glad that you had a good experience ,we hope that you come and visit us soon Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us and of course we thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's Seafood Market & Cajun Kitchen also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's Seafood Market & Cajun Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing