We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of date and uglu dirty carpet. Yuck!!!”
Review of The Vermillion

The Vermillion
Ranked #1 of 362 Restaurants in Brownsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Rancho Viejo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Out of date and uglu dirty carpet. Yuck!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Out of date, food poor, dirty carpet, bad service. Nothing more to say!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaSmithRenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    26
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Out of a friend's kitchen.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We are in Brownsville to get our marriage license and I got hungry. Once getting past all the fast food chains we found the vermillion. It's a small home town feel in one section and a sportsbar feel in the other. I overheard the waiter suggest the shrimp tacos to another customer and I was intrigued . I ordered the tacos and she ordered the nachos . The tacos were delicious and refreshing. A meal to satisfy but it didn't set heavy. The one nacho I slipped by her was bursting with Big flavor. Service was ok ..... Wish I had the taco recommending waiter. He knows his stuff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dupumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs better customer service!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went there this past weekend, and the service was not great. Food was okay, charro beans lacked flavor. It was great 3 years ago, now not so much.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vdtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local Flavor”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Some locals recommended this place. The nachos are great. The only thing missing is hard alcohol. They do serve beer and wine. Super great service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ASmith333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“steady”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

burgers great. fries decent. excellent service. owner grinds his own meat

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank asudarshan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vermillion also viewed

 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing