We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palo Alto Battlefield National Historic Site

Palo Alto Battlefield National Historic Site
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Brownsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of the first battle in the Mexican-American war in 1846.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The National Park Service website didn't lead me to expect much from this site, but we stopped since we were passing through, anyway.

We were pleasantly surprised at how well-developed and maintained the site is. Nothing to add to the other positive reviews, except that if you have kids, especially elementary- or middle-school-aged, don't forget to ask about the Junior Ranger program, available at most national parks. Kids get a free activity book and a Junior Ranger badge specific to the site. It's great for helping kids understand the history on their own level. The book at this site has more reading and activities than some others we've seen, and our daughter had enough to work on in the car after the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaelharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Palo Alto Battlefield International (World) and American History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

In addition to Texas History this land holds stories to be shared in classrooms by text or virtual means. It has lessons to be taught and learned of the Mexican-American War of 1846...after Texas had become a State...the Battle fought is commerated every November with the lighting of thousands of lumarias. This is a site to see and experience by assisting in lighting the candles in memory of the fallen soldiers who fought here to protect and maintain part of the Freedoms we share today. Walk the ground and find artifacts that the rains wash up to the surface. Visit the Center and watch videos...talk to the rangers and staff...they all love to tell the story and share in educating the American Public in the wonderful History of Palo Alto Battlefield.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
391 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My special needs daughter and I were on a motorcycle trip. We were headed to South Padre when I saw a sign for Palo Alto Battlefield. I knew of the battle but not the park. I got into collecting stamps in my National Parks Passport Book when I achieved my Iron Butt Association Master Traveler National Parks Certificate. It requires at least 50 parks with at least one each in 25 states with in 12 months. Plus I am a history buff and Army Brat, so this was a required stop. We did not have time to do the walk but we did have a very long talk with the ranger in the visitor's center. He was a young guy, last name Hernandez, working on his master's degree in Mexican American History. He told us all about the battle and we discused many aspects of what it must have been like for both sides to exist in those conditions let alone fight a battle. If you are in the area this is a good history lesson which we all need to remember.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank leroys73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprising History Lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Easily accessible very important Historical site. I learned a tremendous amount about the start of the Mexican American War. The politics leading up to the battle, strategic decisions and final outcome.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
289 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for a memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The battlefield is visible after a short drive from the highway. The park ranger office is very clean and accessible. The office displays are did an excellent job of showing how some of the great characters in Texas history were part of this battlefield. We took our teenage son to the Palo Alto Battlefield for a class project. He enjoyed the displays and asked to be photographed in front of several displays and in front of a cannon. He even went to a park ranger and asked several questions about the battlefield and displays. This might be a harsh place to tour outside on a hot day, but in cool weather the outdoor trails offer an opportunity to walk where this battle was fought, and also offers a chance to see the native birds of this area. You can see a lot of the displays in less than an hour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank djfluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Alto Battlefield National Historic Site also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Palo Alto Battlefield National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing