We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but great zoo”
Review of Gladys Porter Zoo

Gladys Porter Zoo
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Brownsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known to be one of the best zoos in the United States, open every day of the year.
Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small but great zoo”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We visited in late Dec 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Helpful?
Thank skokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    119
    26
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Place”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have been going every year since our children have been born. We really enjoy seeing the animals. The zoo has beautiful habitats.

Helpful?
Thank Belia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but nice”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have always like the Gladys Porter Zoo and are family are members. It is small, which is one of the nice things about it because it is not an exhausting hike with no animals but rather a short stroll with plenty of animals to see. It seems a bit cramped but we know the animals are well cared for.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank vrdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An Excellent Zoo”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I am not a big fan of zoos, but Gladys Porter is really a wonderful place to spend the mornings. It is almost too hot during the summer months to go in the afternoons.

Helpful?
Thank AuntBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Zoo I've Ever Visited”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Beautiful grounds, well maintained, and an excellent array of creatures big and small. Well worth the price of admission.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladys Porter Zoo also viewed

Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Brownsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gladys Porter Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing