We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only For Heavy Sleepers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Only For Heavy Sleepers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

At first sight this is the real deal: right opposite the marina on Corpus Christi's waterfront, with three restaurants within easy walking distance. However, the downside is the noise. The hotel's about 50-years-old, with plumbing which resonates from room to room and the double glazing does not keep out the traffic noise. The bedroom doors make a loud bang, too. Breakfast is average, the staff friendly and the parking is onsite and free. If you're a heavy sleeper, go for it; if you're not, then think again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chorizogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    228
    143
    67
    43
See reviews for
246
242
25
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed in a gave a positive review for this hotel back in April 2008. I stayed here again this month (Feb. 2011) and wanted to give my update.
This certainly is not the nicest hotel but overall the room was quite clean and comfortable and the breakfast was quite good (hot eggs, tortillas, waffle, juice, breads, etc..). My room had a fridge and microwave too. $86/night.
As I stated before the Omni down the street is certainly better but here you don't pay for parking and it is literally just a block away from multiple great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stagalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

We did get a great rate using a coupon. Entire staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and served hot by friendly servers. Nikole and Patricia were at the front desk when we checked in on the 17th. They were both very helpful and friendly and an asset to your hotel. They told us about the trolley, so we left our car at the hotel and rode the trolley to different places. We stayed two days, and each day those two young ladies were always smiling and I looked forward to visiting with them. It was our first time in Corpus Christi so they told us about the different sites to see in your beautiful city. We were only going to stay one night, but changed our minds after hearing the wonderful places to visit.

The room was quite large and recently renovated with a beautiful view. Enjoyed our visit at your hotel.

Thank you again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissT37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

We went for an event in jan of 2011 and it rained through the whole trip. The hotel was good though. The decor is very 80s but the rooms are clean, the staff is courteous, and they have a hot continental breakfast. Our view was of the whataburger parking lot. But since it was cold and rainy we did not care. Hope this helps. :)

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rad_kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
We truly appreciate you sharing your stay with us. We are currently renovating our property to a more modern décor and are expected to be complete by Spring 2011. We would love to have you back and look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is located close to the t-heads in the bay and some good restaurants and bars. We stayed there in the winter so were not looking for a beach getaway. If you are looking to be on the beach I suggest looking somewhere else - it is not walking distance to a beach. Staff were very friendly, room was very nice (a bit dated in terms of decorations) and clean, view of the bay was great (not a direct view- all views are partial) and good hot breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us. We value your opinion and will share your comments with our staff. We are currently renovating our hotel and replacing all of our beds and bedding for a more modern décor. We hope you will come back and visit us to see our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

The location opposite the marina is great with local restaurants within easy walking distance. Would recommend water street oyster bar and restaurant for their great daily specials. Breakfast at the hotel could be improved on but they are currently renovating the 11th floor restaurant so this could of been just be bad timing on our part.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britchick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we appreciate your input regarding our breakfast. We are currently renovating our entire 11th floor and are expecting to be complete by April 2011. Please come back and see our wonderful view from the 11th floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have young boys (6 & 4) who have been begging to go to the beach. So we squeezed in quick 4 days to catch some sun and sand. We live in Texas and wanted somewhere not crowded, a quick drive from central Texas and had nearby attractions in case we bored or it rained.

Coprus Chrisiti was the perfect fit. Best Western Marina was the perfect choice as well for our family.

We had a double room with queen beds. No molding smell that you usually get from sea side hotels. It had a small fridge and microwave which was a life saver for mid night snacks and cold drinks.

We had a room on teh 8th floor that have a great view of downtown, the pool, cool boats in the marina and the sea wall. Awesome. I got up early most mornings to catch the sunrise and read a book.

Staying at this hotel put you less than 5 mins from the beach, aquarium, USS Lex, and a gazzillion little parks and playgrounds.

Roof top breakfast was served hot by a busy and friendly staff and offered the most amazing 180 degree view of the bay, downtown, the statue of Jesus and the Lex.

They are pretty firm about their 4:00 check in. We arrived around 3:15 and waiting in the lobby. they did offer to allow us to hang out in the pool.

We did use there pool. A little small but every one made it work and it was not nasty or overly warm in any way.

the beds were comfy. linens were clean (we checked) and bathrooms were adequate.

I plan on returning. It was great value for price and location.

it is not five star but delivered on all my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#18 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#47 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#19 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi

Property: BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
Address: 300 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Corpus Christi Hotel. Overlooking Corpus Christi Bay and Marina, the hotel is across from the historic seawall, and minutes from beautiful beaches, restaurants, fishing boats, piers, golf courses, museums and attractions, such as the American Bank Center Arena, Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, Selena Museum and Padre Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corpus Christi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing