We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in time on website is wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Corpus Christi
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check in time on website is wrong”
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at this hotel and when we first arrived the front desk stated the check in time was at 4pm and not 3pm as the website stated. The front desk would not even check to see if a room was available. When we came back at 4pm, we had to wait over an hour in line to check in because no rooms were available. After several complaints from others, the front desk stated no manager was on duty and they could not give any kind of discount. The hotel is across the street from a very loud nightclub and there is not enough parking for the hotel guest because of this. It was very loud even on the 9th floor; you could hear the music, police sirens, car alarms and cars racing down the street at 2am in the morning. This is something that is not stated to you on the website on when you check in. My advice, go further down shoreline blvd away from downtown. Or better yet, if any hotels are still there, drive down south padre freeway; some of those look newer and only a few minutes from the beach. That is were we will stay next time.

  • Liked — rooms were clean and correct
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravelbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    237
    147
    70
    44
See reviews for
256
252
28
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

R & R was what hubby & I were looking for.... Let's see maybe the pool FULL of kids allowed that to be, or no wait, it was the hotel moving furniture on the floor above us around at 10 at night that made it stress free. Hotel states covered parking, yeah all 20 spots they have, other than that it's park wherever & it's not covered. There are 11 floors to this hotel, & 2 really turtle's pace elevators, best to take the stairs.
Good luck getting that free complimentary breakfast, lines are long & no seats.View is nice though!
If walking on the beach with sand between your toes is what you have in mind, stay home.... we tried all the beaches & there was dirt & rocks... that's not sand... I should have stayed home in stressful, humid Houston.....
On a positive note, the USS Lexington & the Captains Sunset Cruise are really nice! At least we have those memories. Good Luck to staying here at Best Western.

  • Liked — Check Out
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HTownTraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

German cockroaches....with the lights still on...gross! Roaches? UGH! The lady at the front acknowledged the problem and said they have been exterminating. She was nice enough to offer me a $25.00 discount. Every cloud has a silver lining (just kidding, they couldn't pay me to stay here again).

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank GEMWorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

I had a need for a hotel in Corpus for a couple of nights on biz. Just me - family not with so I thought I would try to find a good deal. Sure the Super 8 was a bit cheaper and nearby but thought I would try the BW. I was very pleased.
First of all it's location downtown is perfect because it overlooks the marina and bay but also it is basically across the street from a few bars and good restaurants. I don't know when the old building was updated but it was nice and clean - no complaints here. I actually stayed in a different room each night because I wasn't sure if I needed the two nights. Each of the rooms was in the same good condition.
Sure, if you want to stay in a nicer place you can go to the Omni down the street for more $. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and condition for the price
  • Disliked — No hot foods except for toast on the free breakfast - but hey, it's free.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank stagalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We had a great experience at this hotel. It has been completely renovated and is 100% non-smoking. Everything was clean, clean, clean and new. We stayed on the 8th floor, northside and had a beautiful view of the Marina. (Do not stay on the side that faces the What-A-Burger as that is supposed to be noisy). It is right across the street from the Surf Club where we going to a wedding reception, so we parked our car and walked there and also walked to the Water Street Restaurant for dinner that night, also across the street. Didn't care for the "cold breakfast buffet" so walked to a diner about three blocks away for a great cooked breakfast. We paid the government rate of $78 per night plus tax, so it was very reasonable. Pool was very clean and they provided towels. Will go there again.

  • Liked — New and clean - room, lobby, pool. Walking distance to restaurants, and diner for breakfast.
  • Disliked — Cold breakfast buffet. Too much white bread and sugary cereals. Nothing for diabetics to eat except boiled eggs. Coffee was not good. No half and half, only powdered creamer and milk.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcrazyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We found this hotel from the free discount coupon books that are located in stores along the main freeways. After comparing the price in the book to the direct price and looking at the reviews, we decided to give it a try. We weren't disappointed. The hotel was very clean and new remodeled. The view from our balcony was beautiful. The staff was overly courteous to us. About the only complaint we had was the bed was very hard. It's located right downtown with several restaurants and bars within walking distance. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again next time we're in Corpus Christi.

  • Liked — Everything--the price, view, room, staff and location.
  • Disliked — The hard bed.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LIndaArlington_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

If you can live on less than 2 hours of sleep a night, this is the place for you. We faced the Whataburger and a parking lot that fills
up at night with partyiers. Next comes the slamming of doors all night. Our neighbors decided to have a party next door. We were on the 7th floor and could hear traffic, car alarms, sirens just as if they were right outside our window. For a brief moment I thought I had left the door open. The walls are thin so be prepared to hear everything your neighbors are up to. Toilets flushing, doors closing,
talking etc, etc, etc......I was so ready to go home just to get a decent nights sleep. Beds are uncomfortable. When I checked out I explained all this to the person at the counter and you guessed it! All they could say was oh well I'm sorry. Talk about horrible customer service....NEVER AGAIN WILL I STAY THERE. NEVER....... WORST 2 NIGHTS AT A HOTEL. WISH I WOULD HAVE LEFT THE 1ST NIGHT...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It was all bad
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank mj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#19 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#45 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#17 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Corpus Christi

Property: Best Western Corpus Christi
Address: 300 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2565 (Formerly Best Western Marina Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Corpus Christi 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Corpus Christi Hotel. Overlooking Corpus Christi Bay and Marina, the hotel is across from the historic seawall, and minutes from beautiful beaches, restaurants, fishing boats, piers, golf courses, museums and attractions, such as the American Bank Center Arena, Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, Selena Museum and Padre Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corpus Christi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing