We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Houston, Texas, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Even though I am a Diamond Best Western Rewards member, the hotel staff was very unhelpful addressing the broken air conditioning in my room. After multiple calls to the concierge, there was still no resolution. I asked to be moved to another room, and received a snarky attitude when told that was not possible. I weathered the night and now consider never staying with Best Western again after my poor treatment and terrible stay at this location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
6 Thank JD_Houston_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dweiss61, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mr. JD_Houston_Geo:
I sincerely apologize for your experience at the Best Western Marina Grand Hotel. That is not representative of how I would want my stay or nay of my Guests' stays to be like.

I will try to find out exactly who you spoke to and clarify what should have been accomplished for you during your stay, with regards especially to the A/C not working properly.

We are going through a small change currently with regard to personnel and I'm working with my people to try and get things running in a positive direction. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know of your concerns and problems, so I know how to approach our new staff.

Hopefully, you will give us another chance when visiting the Corpus Christi area again.

Sincerely,
Douglas E. Weiss
Front Office Manager,
Best Western Marina Grand Hotel
Doug@marinagrandhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    228
    144
    67
    43
See reviews for
247
242
25
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

For $160.00 per night you would expect to be able to sleep! We stayed 2 nights, the hotel is located in an area that has a bunch of nightclubs right behind it! Until 3-4am you hear a mix of tejano, rock and country music coming from the clubs. The windows in the rooms do NOT block the noise of the clubs, people, or the traffic on the street 10 floors below!!! The windows, since i mentioned them ...are filthy! Inside and out. The sliding door to the balcony takes a very strong arm to wrestle the window open and a stronger arm to close it without pulling it off the tracks!! The paint was peeling on the interior doors, the gap below the room door was about 2" letting in light and sound, the ac did not cool well and it NEVER shut off! The people in the room next to us partied until 5am both morning and every word they said and every music track they listed to we heard!! This is not a hotel to have a peaceful night's sleep!!! Our room was an adjoining room (not requested) and another 2" gap under the door that seperated us again allowing in light and the bedlum from the guests in that other room!
Breakfast - served in a room on the 11th floor left a lot to be desired. While the coffee was drinkable the eggs and sausage were not edible! Powdered eggs are gross and they were also very watery. The sausage did not taste like sausage!
The front office staff were ok - friendly enough, but as I stood there waiting to purchase 2 bottles of water in the lobby, the lady at the front desk asked another co worker of hers "what does she want?" WHAT!!!!!!! I am the customer - ASK ME what I want, not your co-worker!!! The co worker told her "the lady would like to make a purchase" and then she said "Oh good, $4 please"!! Geeze! We only stayed here because all the other hotels were full! I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would presume if you can get a room at the front of the hotel it may be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dweiss61, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mr. JD_Houston_Geo:
I sincerely apologize for your experience at the Best Western Marina Grand Hotel. That is not representative of how I would want my stay or nay of my Guests' stays to be like.

I will try to find out exactly who you spoke to and clarify what should have been accomplished for you during your stay, with regards especially to the A/C not working properly.

We are going through a small change currently with regard to personnel and I'm working with my people to try and get things running in a positive direction. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know of your concerns and problems, so I know how to approach our new staff.

Hopefully, you will give us another chance when visiting the Corpus Christi area again.

Sincerely,
Douglas E. Weiss
Front Office Manager,
Best Western Marina Grand Hotel
Doug@marinagrandhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Marina Grand Hotel several nights in April 2013. It is in a good location and the hotel is clean. Included Breakfast was very nice. When we checked in we were informed that the next day there would be no water at all from 10 am to 3pm due to repairs. We said okay because we had to choice to stay because the room was booked with no refunds. I think we should have been notified of this when we booked the room or given some compensation for the inconvenience.
We noticed that the water temperature in the shower and faucet was very cool and would not get any warmer, but we were tired from travel and did not complain. The next day the water was off and in the evening again when we took showers in the morning the water again was not warm, in the evening at 11pm for showers the water was very cold. We complained to the manager who told us it takes time for the water to warm up after being shut off and OTHER guests had told him it was NOT unbearable. So we should not be complaining.
The next morning the maid brought fresh towels when servicing the room and when we tried to use them for showers, the towels were all wet inside. These were fresh towels - not reused towels. Again I went to the front desk and the woman there had no reaction. The manager came out and I told him about the wet towels and again about the cold water . The reaction I received was his annoyance of me for complaining and if I insisted he would have more towels sent up.
Almost more than the no hot water and wet towels, the manager's reaction and attitude is what I find most troublesome. The hotel never offered any compensation, adjustment, or anything to improve the situation.
Corpus Christi was nice, Padre Island was beautiful and we drove on the beach and took the car ferry, however I would look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mich0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dweiss61, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear mich0222:
I do apologize for the inconveniences you talked about in your review of our hotel. I wish I had more to go on than just your TripAdvisor handle.

We did have a few issues during your stay, I believe, with our water and plumbing upgrades. Unfortunately, the description of your reservation booking leads me to believe that you made your reservation through Expedia or another Third Party company. If it was indeed made that way, we don't have any way of making any adjustments to your room rate.

I also apologize for the wet towels being delivered to your room. That has been addressed to Housekeeping and the situation resolved for the future.

Many of the encounter you had while staying with us are a part of improving the hotel for future stays of our guests. Again, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and hope that you might consider staying with us again the next time you visit Corpus Christi,

Sincerely,
Douglas E. Weiss
Best Western Marina Grand Hotel
Doug@marinagrandhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was renovated in 2012, according to their website. The carpet and paint looked good, but the room was beginning to show signs of the wear and tear that a hotel typically receives. My biggest complaints are:

Although 4 bath and hand towels were left in the bathroom everyday, I had to request each day that 4 face cloths be left instead of 2. I was never done without asking first, even though I told them there were 4 people in the room.

Second, I have never seen a hotel in this category that did not have ice and vending machines on every floor. Ice machines on every other floor, but vending machine on only one floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dweiss61, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Dale W.:
If you receive this twice please forgive me. I'm very new at responding on TripAdvisor.

I want to first thank you for taking the time and sending us your feedback on your experience at our hotel. It really is much appreciated and helps us to improve our service as much as humanly possible for your next stay.

I was sorry to hear about always asking for face cloths during your stay. I will mention this to housekeeping and try to ensure that this doesn't occur again.

In terms of the Ice and Vending Machines, Best Western is revamping our Brand Name and going for Brand Identity which would begin differentiating between hotels what amenities you could expect and those you may not see. Our hotel is set for having only one Vending Machine and an Ice Machine on the even numbered floors.

I do apologize once again for your inconveniences and we will try and provide you with a better stay on your next visit to Corpus Christi,

Sincerely,
Douglas E. Weiss,
Front Office Manager,
Best Western Marina Grand Hotel,
Doug@marinagrandhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Pass, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Planned trip for the whole family ,bonding time,quality time or name it as you want.My kids were extremely excited & happy to be back once again in Corpus Christi,to play in the beach ,to be far away from home but most especially to experience again to be in a nice ,comforting hotel .My boys just love to stay in a good , well known hotel ,couldnt explain why.I feel great seeing their happy faces & excitement! The stay was so short but fulfilling! Would love to come back again ! The staff were great & friendly! The room was well presented !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the 3rd time within 10 months I have took my children to this Hotel, love it more ever time. This time we took a ride on the Harbor Furry round trip which go's from the Bay to U.S.S Lexington and back. With jet rental and pedal boat rentals right across the street and the beach just a block or two more away. The Best Western Marina Grand Hotel is the place for an awesome stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#18 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#47 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#19 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi

Property: BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
Address: 300 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Marina Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Corpus Christi Hotel. Overlooking Corpus Christi Bay and Marina, the hotel is across from the historic seawall, and minutes from beautiful beaches, restaurants, fishing boats, piers, golf courses, museums and attractions, such as the American Bank Center Arena, Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, Selena Museum and Padre Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corpus Christi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing