We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but it's a PARTY hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, but it's a PARTY hotel.”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our family was very disappointed in this hotel, it has so much potential. First, the location is great, right on the beach. There is no free breakfast, we didn't try the restaurant. The elevators are really small and very slow. Our main complaint is that this is a party hotel. We have 2 small children and were very upset with the drunks in and around the hotel. This hotel has an outside bar and live entertainment, so it attracts many people who are not staying at the hotel. There is not way to keep non guests of hotel out of the pool area and beach access, as it is all open and located together. We were not able to swim at all because it was so crowded, and people are drinking and smoking all around this area. People also hang out just outside the doors of hotel and smoke continuously. We were very uncomfortable coming and going as there are many unsavory people lingering around. Our neighbor across the hall kept coming/going in the late hours of the night, completely drunk and very loud. The pool was supposed to close around midnight, however there were people in it until 3-4am. Overall, we loved the location and liked the safe in the room, however, if you are a family, beware of the partying. We did not vacation during any type of spring break or party time of year either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 528Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear 528Mom,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I'm so glad you liked the great location of our hotel. I'm deeply sorry for the overall experience you had during you stay. I understand the discomfort this has caused you and your family. I would love to discuss this with you in further details so I have sent you a private message. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    149
    124
    81
    84
See reviews for
238
153
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Converse
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn 31 May to 3 June 2012-3 Nights. Lights were burned out-Microwave didn't work, Air Conditioner was so noisy, my wife couldn't even hear me snore. My daughter's AC actually had to be replaced. The Elevators are so small, one has to wait twice as long to get upstairs. We had a nice large room but not very friendly. When you pay $150 a night, you expect a little bit more. The Comfort Suites across the street was a much better hotel and had a free Breakfast.

Room Tip: Go to Comfort Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yalehaus-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I thought that I would be staying at a nice, fun hotel on the beach. I was disappointed with my stay here. The hotel is older and it definitely shows. The air conditioner (window unit) in our room was very loud when it was running. The bathroom sink was cracked. The ceiling had a huge spot were there had been a leak. There was hardly any storage for our clothes. We lived out of our suitcases. The furniture was worn out.The bed was hard. The pool area is small and crowded. The beach area cardwas overtaken with vehicles parked all over the place. We drove to Malaquite Beach and paid the extra money for a nice beach that was less crowded. There is an outdoor bar and live band every night. People who aren't staying at the hotel come to get drunk and party. It gets a little wild at night. The parking lot is really crowded. The parking lot got so full that some guests had to park along the side of the street at the entrance to the hotel. There were always big trucks along the side of the road that made it hard to see when exiting the parking lot. Guests are not supposed to smoke in the hotel, but the guests staying in the room next to us were and you could smell the smoke in the hallway. People would sit outside the main doors of the hotel and smoke. Every time I came in and out, I had to walk through their smoke, which is gross to me. I left some change on the TV stand and when we came back from the beach it was gone. Housekeeping had been in our room to change out our towels and make the bed. I dont want to acuse them, but I dont know how else it would have disappeared. I won't be staying here again. There are some nice hotels across the street that I will consider. They are Comfort Suites and the Hawthorn. We have stayed at Surfside before and I would stay there again as well. I would re consider if you are thinking about staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelleAnnPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear ChelleAnnPotter,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and were able to relax and enjoy the beach. The bar was nice, the rooms were fine, and the service was friendly. The restaurant was a little overpriced for the quality, $30 for two for breakfast. The bed was firmer than we usually like also. The nicest part was being right on the beach. Chair rental is $15 for a day and well worth it to sit off the sand, right next to the water. Overall, it was a pretty good value, and I would recommend staying here if you just want to be near the water.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Right on the beach in North Padre Island. Excellent location. Stayed in a balcony room which is very nice and paid the price for it ~$270. Stay away from the balcony rooms close to the bar if you don't want to hear the loud music and people talking. The hotel needs a more aggresive upkeep. I understand that the salt and ocean breeze tends to wear things out faster but more the reason to do a more detailed maintenace. Rooms have a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Bathrooms are small but OK. The restaurant is privately owned. Has very good breakfast but the rest of the menu is mediocre. It really needs a better restaurant. Service is OK.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room but away from the bar side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2travel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Luv2travel65,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed here last June 2011--Did not know I could post a review-water was shut off for 3 hours to the whole hotel with no apology or reason why. Rooms were cleaned late-between 2-5pm- bad televisions in room-Nothing in the game room worked--The hotel did not police guests not staying at the hotel (though armbands issued) using the small pool area--Anyone can just walk in and did!!! Food in restaurant so-so. Customer service at desk was terrible--Never enough towels at the front. Too much money paid for a horrible experience. DON'T DO IT!! The only nice thing the kids liked was the bunk beds in the room-though we had to call maintenance to replace the TV which was not working. So sad-there is so much potential for this hotel.

Room Tip: Kids like bunk bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Y S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Y S,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay from last year. We have made many changes since June 2011. We welcome you to come back for a new experience.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Love the location step away from the beach and away from busy streets. heated pool abd hot tub clean.
Comfortable beds
Resturant owned by different company then Holiday inn.. staff staff was not helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nonnie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear nonnie40,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the location of our property and our comfortable beds. I am sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. I assure you that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#38 of 80 in Corpus Christi
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#17 of 80 in Corpus Christi
533 reviews
18.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#22 of 80 in Corpus Christi
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Padre Island
Best Western Padre Island
#5 of 80 in Corpus Christi
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#33 of 80 in Corpus Christi
213 reviews
16.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#42 of 80 in Corpus Christi
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island
Address: 15202 Windward Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Corpus Christi, Texas is North Padre Island s only full service hotel located directly on the Gulf of Mexico.Hand painted murals liven the inside and summer weekend entertainment livens the outside at our Sand Bar. Seasonal children s activities, an outdoor playground, and indoor game room create a perfect family beach vacation. Two large outdoor swimming pools overlook the natural beauty of the ocean and there are many direct beach access points. Both corporate and leisure guests will appreciate the meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom has a microwave and mini-fridge and many offer an ocean view and a balcony. The Beachside Grill and Lounge complete this perfect hotel package!Golf and tennis are less than 1 mile from the hotel. The USS Lex Aircraft Museum and the Texas State Aquarium are 22 miles away.Downtown Corpus Christi provides night life fun, fishing and sightseeing boats and bicycle rentals. Sports enthusiasts can watch a baseball or football game at Whataburger Field, a hockey game at American Bank Center, or Texas A & M Islander basketball. Fish from Bob Hall pier, kayak around Packery Channel, surf at J. P. Luby Park, boat around Bird Island, or walk the many birding trails in the Coastal Bend. Book your hotel reservation with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - n. Padre Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing