We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here if we were able to pick our own hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emerald Beach Hotel
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I travel all over the country for his job. The company pays for our accommodations, so we didn't have a choice in staying here. We've been here for a week and a half so far. There are 2 elevators on each floor across from each other. One of them seems to be out of service every few days. Yesterday we got in one, and it went up then slipped back down and shook. Did this on every floor until we were finally able to get off on the third floor. (our room is on the 5th floor). Elevator floors are always wet also from all the kids here on weekends using the pool. Internet is very slow. The first room we were in we weren't able to even connect to the internet. They did move us to another room, and more often than not, IF we are able to even connect to wireless, it's extremely slow. Weekends are horrible! Seems this is the hotel where all the schools stay when in town for sports tournaments. Buses take up 7 spaces each of the beachfront parking, and front parking instead of parking in the back of the parking lot like they should. Our parking lot is also parking for public beach access so you can just about forget about finding a parking spot on the weekends. So far I have found 2 dead roaches in this room, and a few in the first room we were in also. Wallpaper is peeling in places, and there are water spots on the ceiling. There is no microwave or fridge in the room either. The hotel doesn't have any laundry facility, so our clothes have to be taken to the wash and fold. On the plus side, this is a pet friendly hotel, and the housekeeping staff on our floor are great. Rooms are quiet also. It's an ok hotel, but definitely wouldn't stay here if we were able to pick our own hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 5000 if you want internet access.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chesneydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Online Marketing Coordinator at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Hello Chesneydale,

Thank you for taking time review our hotel on Tripadvisor.com. . It is our desire to make every stay a special stay and I am sorry we did not. I will forward your review to management and staff. We appreciate your honestly, it is only with your feedback that we can improve. We would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Emerald Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 574 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boise, Idaho
1
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

From our balcony watched pelicans fishing the bay and later, the lights from Padre Island. The staff were really helpful and though the room was old, it was clean and very comfortable. We'd definitely stay again, but we'll give the mediocre, over priced restaurant a pass.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband came out of surgery at Spohn Menorial at 0300. Every hotel I called was booked due to TPWL convention. This hotel was willing to give us a late checkout till 2 in the afternoon. When we arrived we were checked in in less than a minute. Desk clerk was very nice and friendly. The hotel decor is a little dated. I was told at the hospital it used to be a Holiday Inn. But our room was spotless, towels were good, bed and pillows were comfortable. Although our room did not look out over the beach, we could see the beach but truly we did not care. We received a "Hospital Rate" of $87.00 a night. We just needed a place to sleep. Perfect for our situation.

Room Tip: hotel is on the beach, choose a room over looking the water.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootlegger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived late in the afternoon. Since it was offseason, it was not super crowded. Check - in was a breeze. Room was a nice size. On the down side. We were not too happy about being placed right next to the elevator. (My wife was not bothered enough to want to ask for another room so don't want to make it sound harsh. We were thinking that with so few rooms being booked, they would not have placed us there to start with. Also, the room was certainly not business/mobile gadget person friendly. It was a like a treasure hunt trying to find the single working electrical plug in which to recharge our smartphones and tablets. It was directly behind the nightstand/side table. Lastly, and again, it really was not the fault of the hotel, but the road construction near the property made it difficult to navigate back to the room without our smartphones as they were not charged.

Room Tip: Make it clear you do not want to be by the elevator!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRLBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The weather cleared just in time for this President's Day Weekend. Gloria is the best Guest Host - we called from our home and booked our room after reading the online site and guest comments. Hotel location - excellent - right on the Downtown waterfront, don't need your car - trolley ride to area activities or walk. Our room was comfortable, slept well on the doubles; watched the Olympics on the LG flat screen TV, ordered meals from the hotel restaurant to carry out or eat in - food was fresh, well prepared, tasty, affordable and generous. Breakfast buffet or Cakes and Eggs - marvelous. Took our two dogs for long walks on the beach - used the poop bag outlets on premises. Forgot bathing suit - gift shop had lots to choose from and the huge indoor heated holidome pool and spa were perfect. Guests have wrist bands to control access. This 1970's era facility was well built, furnishings, color scheme dark and dated are well maintained. Enjoyed the laid back atmosphere here - very accommodating staff made everyone feel spoiled and well cared for. Beware of crumbled concrete due to weathering and excessive wear and tear on steps, pilings at this site and nearby area access to other restaurants. City of Corpus Christie is responsible for maintaining jetties and access ramps. Beach was raked, trash removed and maintained. We recommend it if you have pets and/or kids; a great place during winter months for those snow birds - Whooping Crane viewing about an hour away by car to take the boat tour from Port A or Rockport. We plan to come back soon.

Room Tip: Tell Gloria what you need and she'll put you in the right spot! Lots of great rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ex-Detroiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We came into Corpus late on a Tuesday evening and drove around looking at a hotel. This one was on beach side. We went in and spoke with the night desk clerk, who got us all squared away. The view from our room (7th floor, ocean side) was fantastic, the bed was comfortable, and the room was nicely decorated. Our room was a handicapped room, so the bathroom was setup as such - so I can't comment on that.

What made this hotel wonderful was the staff. The bartender was friendly, new the area, and told us a little bit of history about the hotel, and area. He made us night caps, and gave us glasses with ice and mixers so we could drink them in our room. The night clerk was also extremely helpful with our bags, and getting our room.

This hotel was once a Holiday Inn, but has turned the big hotel feel into a nice cozy place to stay. Staff alone is what makes this an excellent rating.

Room Tip: High floor on the backside so you can see the sun rise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sniemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Checked in on saturday for one night with my wife and child.Found that the room was very clean and nice. Didnt eat at the hotel. We eat out usually when staying somewhere, but is nice to know for future stay there. The indoor pool/jaquzzi was a big hit for not only my little one , but my wife and also myself. "Awesome" is the word we used. Will be staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#23 of 79 in Corpus Christi
993 reviews
1.3 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 79 in Corpus Christi
2,948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#8 of 79 in Corpus Christi
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#15 of 79 in Corpus Christi
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#45 of 79 in Corpus Christi
135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beach
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beac...
#53 of 79 in Corpus Christi
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Hotel

Address: 1102 S Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-3511
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range: $119 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of casual relaxation and business convenience, with the most unique hotel location in downtown Corpus Christi. Just minutes from downtown businesses, you can enjoy fresh sea air and sand between your toes as you walk the beach behind our hotel. Our spacious bay front rooms, with fantastic views of the bay and marina, featuring free high-speed Internet connection will allow you to relax and conduct business. Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our dining room or room service on your balcony, or maybe a cocktail at our beach side bar. Just a ten minute drive or open air trolley ride gets you to area attractions, such as Texas State Aquarium or the USS Lexington Museum. After work we will provide transportation to downtown restaurants and entertainment. When its time to leave we will take you to the airport as well. Try Emerald Beach once and we are sure you will return every time you visit Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing