We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location...average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emerald Beach Hotel
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel I fought to find a place to park within the hotel's parking lot. There was a big event going on (bay to beach run...or something like that) right near the hotel and unfortunately it does not appear the hotel has a parking area designated for people who are actually staying at the hotel. The lot was full of people attending the event...what about us who are PAYING for a room at the hotel? Anyway I finally found a spot and entered the hotel. The lobby area, small bar area and resturant area look very nice. The staff was very friendly. I begin heading to my room and as mentioned by many others when reviewing this hotel one of the two elevators was STILL not working. So I waited in line to actually get into the very small elevator. After the elevator loaded left, and came back I finally got in. I arrived at my room and found it average for hotel that appears to be fairly old and 'tired'. No obvious dirt anywhere, the bathroom was clean, the furniture polished and the linen good. The overall appearance of the room was alright but (as mentioned previously) a bit 'dated'. The food at the hotel resturant was alright. Breakfast was good and food plentiful (be sure to get the $2 discount coupon for breakfast during checkin). I had a bacon-double cheeseburger delivered to my room one night and it as well as the desert was good. Room service was very quick! The hotel is located right on the beach which does give a good view. I did not use the pool but it looked good and everyone appeared to be having a good time! The little shop near the pool provides many different small gifts for your visit in Corpus. The staff in the shop were very nice.

One thing I would caution people is to watch the wet floors caused by folks leaving the pool and heading directly into the hotel. Some of the floors are (were) very slippery (mainly in the elevator)

Overall this was an alright stay. If (when) in Corpus again I would probably return here mainly for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear J P,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. I am particularly appreciative of your comments regarding our staff being friendly and our prompt room service.

Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. The elevator was giving many of our guest's issues and I'm grateful you brought this to our attention. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Corpus Christi.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 582 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

we stayed here mainly to get the priority reward points... but it's so not worth the money! we paid $125/night and I would say it's at the most a $75/night value. The hotel was very dirty and there was water everywhere from people walking back from the pool. That's not so bad, but it made the floors very slippery and the elevators were just soaked with dirty water!!!! gross! The customer service there was bad, and we when we went to ask for more conditioner (b/c the cleaning crew didn't put any in our room) they said they ran out. No other alternative solution was given. seriously???? how can a hotel run out of conditioner? The AC didn't work and the beds were hard!!!

I didn't feel safe w/ my car in the parking lot since most locals use that as a place to park and go to the beach. It was just an all around disappointment for the Holiday inn Chain. It needs a renovation!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlj732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear jlj732,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and for leaving us feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay and that the amenities and services fell below your expectations. However, I am pleased to inform you that we have just completed our renovations last February and this is to ensure our facilities and service are superior.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Corpus Christi.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Arrived a little over an hour earlier so we decided to ensure the pool was in working condition before checking in. Our youngest daughter just loves hanging out at the pool. Hotel was a little busy with guest but nothing to complain about. Walked up to guest services and was treated nicely. Gentleman who handled my check in was pleasantly courteous. Got my room keys and headed to our room on the sixth floor in the main building. Sure enough, only one elevator was in working condition but at least they had posted this on the main lobby. No real problems getting up and down when needed. Room was great and the view of downtown and the ocean was breath taking. Beach was very clean on Saturday but due to the crowds that day, it needed some cleaning the morning after. It was not until around 2pm that a hotel employee came around and started picking up some of the mess left behind. Last but not least, mother nature sure came through - especially on Saturday. The weather could not have been any better in my opinion. Unfortunately, the weekend came to an end and we had to return home. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The location was wonderful. We just checkin in, dropped out luggage and went exploring. When we came back (late) the room was hot. We could not adjust the temperature so just dealt with it. The electrical outlets were dangerous because the plugs would just fall out. The pool closed early and our room was dirty. When I checked out I only mentioned the outlets and temperature to the front desk. I did not even get an appology.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Tisha B,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Other than the location of this hotel, there is little favorable about this hotel. At 100% capacity only ONE elevator worked all weekend, the entire hotel was dated and dirty. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable, but the room was small with no closet space. Breakfast at the restaurant was fair for a buffet, but it was poorly staffed and slow to seat guests. Lobby, business center, and workout area are nice. Beach front location is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DVM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear DVM97,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel was really nice. All the employees could not have been nicer. There are many things that do show the age of the hotel. My biggest complaint was that they were down t o 1 elevator (the other one was being refurbished). Three hours after check-in - the second elevator quit. We were told initially to take the stairs (we were on the 7th floor). After that - you had to call the front desk and request the freight elevator be sent up to get you. Then had to find someone to take you back up the freight elevator when you wanted to go back to your room. It was a inconvenience and we probably would have gone up and down to the beach more if that hadn't been the case. But the room was great. Had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff was exceptional. Pool and hot tub were very clean. The beach was kept litter free and was enjoyable. I will go back - just want to make sure both elevators work when I do!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is very well priced and right on the water. They also have a pool, hot tub, play area for kids, shuffle board, ping pong, and air hockey. My only complaint is one of the elevators was broken during our stay so we had to wait quite a while any time we needed to go up or down. We were on the 7th floor and had a 2 year old with us, so that was definitely a bit of an inconvenience. Overall though, this was a great hotel to stay at. We only spent 1 night and hardly any time actually at the hotel, as we were mostly on the beach or out to eat or at the Texas State Aquarium. The showers were great and the beds comfy. That's all we really needed! I also would like to mention that the staff was very helpful and kind in our short time there.

Room Tip: It depends on your motives...we are not "party" people...we were there for a family vacati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
0.8 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#5 of 81 in Corpus Christi
911 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#12 of 81 in Corpus Christi
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 81 in Corpus Christi
3,142 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beach
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beac...
#52 of 81 in Corpus Christi
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downt...
#13 of 81 in Corpus Christi
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Beach Hotel

Address: 1102 S Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-3511
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range: $107 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the perfect blend of casual relaxation and business convenience, with the most unique hotel location in downtown Corpus Christi. Just minutes from downtown businesses, you can enjoy fresh sea air and sand between your toes as you walk the beach behind our hotel. Our spacious bay front rooms, with fantastic views of the bay and marina, featuring free high-speed Internet connection will allow you to relax and conduct business. Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our dining room or room service on your balcony, or maybe a cocktail at our beach side bar. Just a ten minute drive or open air trolley ride gets you to area attractions, such as Texas State Aquarium or the USS Lexington Museum. After work we will provide transportation to downtown restaurants and entertainment. When its time to leave we will take you to the airport as well. Try Emerald Beach once and we are sure you will return every time you visit Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerald Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - Emerald Beach Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing