We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the Lexington and the Aquarium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were in Corpus for our son to visit the USS Lexington for an overnight stay. I chose to stay at the Radisson while my husband and son did the overnight on the Lexington. It was the closest hotel to the Lexington which made it easy to park our car and walk their stuff the two blocks to the ship.

The hotel itself was nice. We arrived early and they were able to let me check-in to my room. The staff was pleasant and friendly. The room itself was spacious and comfortable with all the amenities people expect these day - a small microwave, a coffee maker, a hair dryer, etc. The TV had a nice selection of basic cable channels along with pay-per-view movies.

I'm pretty picky about beds, bedding, and other linens when I travel. The bed was just a bit too tall for me. I could not sit on the edge of the bed and it was difficult for me to get into the bed if I just wanted to sit and watch television. I am on the shorter side so this might not be a problem for other guests. The mattress was very firm. This was not really a problem for me but if you like your mattress to be softer, you have been warned. The linens were cotton. They were soft, not crisp. The towels were a nice, soft, terry cloth and they were a decent size for hotel towels. Overall, I was pleased with the bedding in this hotel.

I did spend some time at the pool and I was bothered that there was no one to enforce the rule about no coolers in the pool area. There were a few guests there with at least two coolers who were drinking beer in the hot tub and the pool. They left shortly after I arrived so I did not report it to hotel management, but it still bothered me.

My only real complaint about this hotel, and it is a minor one, was my experience in the hotel restaurant. I had breakfast there and was considering the breakfast buffet. I was sorely disappointed in the offerings available which were eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, fruit and cold cereal. Breakfast potatoes are cheap and I'm surprised they were not available, along with some tortillas for impromptu breakfast tacos. Otherwise, the food was somewhat better than average and the service was ok. I've had better and I've had worse.

Regardless of my experience in the restaurant, I would stay here again IF I needed to be close to the USS Lexington or the Aquarium.

Room Tip: If you are going to be there for several days, go ahead and spring for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcurry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chhatrala, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for the compliments on the hotel. We did just change the beds to Simmons Ultra Plush units and are getting many compliments on them. We are glad you also liked our choice of linens and terry for the bath.
We look forward to seeing you soon; we hope your husband and son had a good time on the USS Lexington.
Hurry Back
Dave R, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hospitality and service from the front desk staff was excellent. 7th floor room had an amazing view of the bay. Very comfortable and clean. Furniture looked like something expected at a boutique hotel.

Only downside was that the beach didn't seem very clean, but I think the city is charged with that duty.

Plan to stay here again, for sure!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJDierker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chhatrala, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We appreciate you being our guest and thank you for the kind remarks. We agree that the views are wonderful and we try to assist he City with Beach clean up, but they have a crew that does a good job, sometimes the wind will cause trash to build up. Thank you for the input.
Dave R. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had what was referred to on the website as the "Largest Room-Full Ocean View from Balcony". Room was so small that if you took the luggage cart into the room; there wasn't enough room to walk on either side of it. The view was excellent. The closet featured a growth on the ceiling that resembled something from Ghostbusters. The security lock, which was located beneath a sign stating 'Be sure and set it' or something to that effect, did not work. The sliding doors, both closet and balcony were VERY difficult to use. Balcony was unlocked when we arrived. The locking mechanism is something jerry rigged and not a standard locking bar for sliding doors. The refrigerator was iced up. Needed to be defrosted. Water pressure in the shower was barely sufficient to wash the soap off you. The only thing going for this hotel is...LOCATION.

Under no circumstances whatsoever, patronize the on-site restaurant. On our final day, due to inclement weather, we decided to eat in. What is referred to as a breakfast buffet is without a doubt the worst breakfast buffet I have ever paid for. $9.99 Minimalistic selections, no bacon! I've had better at Motel 6!. Just two days earlier I had a hotel breakfast buffet 10X better and it was FREE! However, the piece de resistance was regarding the breakfast beverage. Our server said the 9.99 included coffee or orange juice. Being diabetic, my wife asked if they had cranberry juice. She said yes. Didn't bother to mention that it was $3 more and ask if that was OK. Had she asked, I would have approved. Since she didn't, I assumed it would be substituted for orange juice. When I got the bill and questioned this, all I got was "I sorry". Seems everyone here is sorry.

Unless you have very small children who want to play in a relatively calm bay; I suggest you go somewhere else.

We have always stayed at the Omni whenever in Corpus; but decided to give the Radisson a try this time. BIG mistake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthTexasReddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chhatrala, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for being our guest. The family room is larger than a standard guest room and does feature a large balcony; both are much larger than any standard hotel room. I am sorry if you feel it was not big enough.
Regarding the buffet, coffee and orange juice are included (which I believe was disclosed to you), any additional drinks or variances to that are an additional cost. I am sorry if you do not agree, but that is a standard at most hotels. The manager did offer to remove the additional charge for the substitute juice and even offered a free beverage to take with you, both you declined.
We don't always do everything right but if we are notified we do try hard to make up for it. I am sorry you did not feel satisfied, but the majority of our guests find the buffet satisfactory.
Dave R. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Radisson on the beach sounds like a winner until you see the place. The entire hotel was bad. It smelled musty throughout the hotel and everything was worn and dated. I would not recommend it to anyone. You would be better served to find lodging on the other side of the bridge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bum1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chhatrala, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for being our guest. I am not sure how to respond as the hotel just finished a total renovation in May of this year. We replaced the carpet, furniture, drapes and lights in all guest rooms and guest halls and all rooms and halls were painted with fresh new colors. The Lobby and Restaurant were moved from the third floor to the lobby level and also received a total new and refreshed look.
Most guests have had very positive comments and especially those that have stayed before and are excited about the great new look. I am sorry you did not care for the décor but hope you will reconsider and visit us again.
Dave R. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Radisson on The Beach in Corpus Christi Texas during the Labor Day Weekend. And there is one thing that Sgt Vitalucci knows and that is good service and Outstanding Hospitality. This Hotel has it all. The Service and Hospitality is by far the best that I have seen in the USA. They are on the Beach. They have a Pool with Hot tub and a Tiki Bar at the Pool. And the rooms have a lot of room in them and the Beds are just as comfortable as your own home. There is a Bar and Restaurant. There are other places within walking distance. There is also a very nice view of the USS Lexington which can also walk to if you like. We are definitely going back here.

Room Tip: Get a room over lookjing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SgtVitalucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chhatrala, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for being our guest and for the positive comments about the hotel and the staff. We agree that the location is excellent and we work hard to see we separate ourselves from the "others" with friendliness and cleanliness. We appreciate the compliments and will use them as further motivation to do even better.
Thank You and Travel Safe
Dave R. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here as a last minute trip with my family and left never wanting to come back. We had several issues that bothered me about our stay at the Radisson. First was the bar service, the inside bartender blatantly tried to trick us with a false pour of alcohol and then played it off. We assumed it was a joke but it wasn't-she was dead serious that she just fake-poured a drink for us. I have nooo clue why she didn't tell us off the bat that she was out of vodka and it would take 20 minutes to get some more. We finally got that out of her because we were in shock she continued on with her charade. Next was the outside bar, ordering from a pool bar-you expect the price to be high but what you don't expect is sub par drinks that you can barely get if the bartenders are not putting lipstick on each other in the back of the hut. They start when they want and then they hide out in the hut the whole time. Our biggest issue was the pool area. This pool is insanely popular with pool crashers and their children that live in the area! The hotel asks you to wear a wrist bracelet but no one wears them. There is not anyone there to check from the hotel either. I've been told that this particular weekend, the pool attendants had called in sick. We chatted with everyone at the pool and all of the neighborhood children told us that they swim at the pool while their parents stay on the beach. It was insanity!! There was nowhere to turn in this pool. They also have faux rocks in between the hot tub and pool area that all of the kids jumped off of while we were in the pool. It's such a small pool, when anyone jumps, everyone can feel it and we had to scoop our small daughters out before they got pounced on by the older kids jumping frequently. Finally, the housekeepers were slamming doors early Sunday morning by placing the hook in between the door while they cleaned the room. It sounded like fireworks all morning.
I called the General Manager about all of these issues because I felt like it was unfair to pay for this hotel and it's amenities when they don't deliver on service or quality. What are we paying for? I called him twice and finally got a hold of him when I called again. He apologized and mentioned some upcoming improvements but also let me know that the bar service is a separate company, not Radisson employees. He told me that he was going to pass my number to that company so I could get a refund and apology on our drink orders. He also told me he was going to send me a voucher/discount (I am unclear with what exactly he was sending) by email or mail to my home address. It's been a week and I have not heard from the bar company or received anything via email/home mail from the Radisson itself. I called again this morning and the GM is unavailable. I asked to be transferred to his voicemail and the front desk hung up on me. I called back again and said I was not connected to his voicemail and she said "hmmmmm?"....as if she was trying to figure out why I wasn't connected since she actually hung up on me the first time around.
I wanted to wait to post a review. Especially because I work in Marketing and I know how important reviews are for companies. I decided this morning that there are just too many concerns I have to let others book this hotel without this knowledge. This is a great site for reviews and reviews honestly make a company. If the reviews are handled appropriately, there is forgiveness and understanding but at this point, I feel like they have dropped the ball in all areas. If you read past reviews, you can see there is a common theme in all of our reviews. While I agree that the location is nice and close to other attractions, that's about the most positive thing I can say. I am very happy to add on to this review should I hear back from the General Manager in a positive way. This hotel could be so nice if they tried harder to care for their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chhatrala, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

I am sorry you felt that the hotel failed to address your issues. Unfortunately I was out ill last week and therefore was unable to return your call, I do apologize, but there were extenuating circumstances. I did contact you as soon as I returned.
There was a miscommunication between myself the operator of the Bar and for that I apologize as well. We have since clarified the problem and assure you there was never any intention to commit fraud or deception. The individuals that made the mistakes have been talked to and the problems rectified.
The fact it took a week to respond was unfortunate and is not my management style; I do not hide from guests and their problems but choose to address them head on.
We have since rectified the situation and appreciate your business.
Dave R. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson at Corpus Christi Beach back in August 2011 (not 2013). We were given a room on one of the upper floors, with a bayside view. It was so relaxing to get up in the morning and watch all the huge ships and the little shrimp boats that were coming through the port. And right outside our window was the USS Lexington, a retired aircraft carrier. It was lit up at night and so was the city, which was right across from the Lexington. Very nice view. The beds were sleep number beds and they were very comfortable, but if you had to adjust them, it was loud. That was not the hotel's fault. The people were very nice and they kept the rooms clean. Keep in mind, though, that this is a beachfront hotel and there may be sand here or there. The pool was very clean and super relaxing during the day, which was when I used it. It was nice to have the option to go to the bay and sit on the beach or hang out at the pool and sit in a lounge chair. The pool had an outside shower that you could rinse off with. It also had a little waterfall that was very soothing. This hotel is within walking distance of a few restaurants and also, the Texas State Aquarium. If you don't want to walk, there is a bus that loops around the area. It is also just a short drive from Padre Island, Port Aransas, and downtown Corpus Christi.

Overall, we had a great time at the Radisson at Corpus Christi Beach and would definitely go there again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a bayside room. Otherwise, you have to look at the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joxigyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chhatrala, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for being our guest and for the wonderful review of our hotel and the surrounding area. We are fortunate to have both the Bay and the Salt Water pool to provide a diverse experience for our guests. We also have discount coupons for the Lexington and Aquarium and are pleased to provide them to all our guests.
We will continue to work on new and better services as we progress.
Travel Safe.
Dave R. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#13 of 79 in Corpus Christi
93 reviews
2.6 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#43 of 79 in Corpus Christi
579 reviews
1.3 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 79 in Corpus Christi
3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#6 of 79 in Corpus Christi
901 reviews
7 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beach
Quality Inn & Suites on the Beac...
#50 of 79 in Corpus Christi
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach

Address: 3200 E Surfside Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78402-1219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range: $97 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Beach Hotel is excited about the completion of our renovation. All guest rooms received new carpet, furniture, bedding new art work, drapes and lighting. New Guest hall carpet and paint as well.The Lobby has been totally renovated with a new open, light look with all new furniture and accessories. The Restaurant received a total new look with new seating and the Bar move to the lobby level with an entire new setting. We are anxious for you to see our great new look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Tx
Corpus Christi Beach Radisson
Radisson Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Radisson
Radisson Htl Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing