We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express - acting like Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I frequently stay at Holiday Inn Express and find them to be clean comfortable and of good value. Years ago, we used to stay at plain old Holiday Inns and changed to Express as the former inns went to pot.
Let me first say the rooms we and our traveling companions used were clean, had good comfortable beds, good temperature control and were up to the good standards we have learned to expect from Holiday Inn Express. But unlike other Express locations we have stayed at, this one is trying to fall back into the Holiday Inn mode.. TV remote not working - and to get ice you play the go floor to floor to find a working ice machine game. The hot water problem you read about, is not fixed. I assume with a building this new it is not an engineering issue but rather one of not spending the money to have hot water.
The breakfast was good and up to what you have learned to expect of Holiday Inn Express.
I encourage the management of this site to get back on track and not damage the HIE reputation.
Although this hotel is not on the water, it is close to the water and in close proximity to shopping malls and every chain restaurant you can imagine.
So would I recommend this location - yes. I THINK that eventually the management here will do something with the little things that will turn this into what we left Holiday Inn over. This is NOT what we have seen in other HIE locations so we suspect it is a local issue.

Room Tip: Might try the lower floors to see if hot water issue is better at lower floors.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrankyOldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear CrankyOldGuy,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 151 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel itself is new and is very convenient to Corpus Christi and the NAS. I checked in late and was grateful that the hotel had a pantry and I could grab something microwaveable. There was a microwave and fridge in the room. I stay in a lot of Holiday Inn family hotels and have noticed that although they advertise different varieties of pillows, the all seem the same. When I stay at a Hilton chain hotel, I can definitely notice the difference..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pistolpjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us. As for the pillows, be on the look out for some new options at Holiday Inn Express in the upcoming year. I hope to see you again next time you are in Corpus Christi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for five nights while visiting family. The location is very convenient and the rooms are clean and modern. An added bonus is the included breakfast each morning...so nice to grab something right there and not have to go out to a restaurant. The beds and pillows are the most comfortable have ever slept on and the rooms must be well insulated because the was no noise! I plan on visiting often and this will be my "go to" place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJDels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello, NJDels! Thank you so much for the excellent review of our hotel. We hope you will come see us again on your next trip to Corpus Christi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I go to Corpus every couple of months for work & when I can this is where I stay. The location has easy access to all of Corpus. & it is easy to get around. The hotel is very clean -yay! :) Also - the employees are all really nice & helpful. I recommend this hotel & will stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gecko831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Checked in on a Tuesday and was happy with the appearance and cleanliness of the property, but there are 3 issues that need to be addressed. First is parking. There are not enough spots outside. I came in late and had to park in a handicapped spot, which I hate to do, but had no choice. The 2nd issue is the Internet signal. It's way too slow to, and goes in and out. Like most business travelers, a strong Internet signal is a must for me. And 3rd, the water pressure in my 4th floor room was zilch. I had a difficult time taking a shower, which is of course important for all travelers, business or pleasure. While these 3 issues are fairly major, I still might try it again sometime. The rooms were clean, and the staff was freindly.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for a family vacation. We wanted something that would be centralized and easy to get to, and this was. We had easy access to a large number of restaurants and shops (the mall is just down the street), and the beach is an easy drive. We spent our days seeing the sights around Corpus, and we'd spend the evenings enjoying the quiet hotel. While some hotels have problems with burglary or noise, this one didn't. It was great, and the workers were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our first time at this hotel but definitely will not be our last!! Modern, clean, and extremely comfortable beds; very nice breakfast selections; friendly and helpful staff; great, quiet location. Will not waste our time checking with other hotels in the future. This will be our home away from home each time we visit Corpus Christi. I would have expected to pay three times as much and still consider it a bargain.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corpus Christi
Staybridge Suites Corpus Christi
#13 of 80 in Corpus Christi
270 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi North
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#29 of 80 in Corpus Christi
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Corpus Christi
Courtyard Corpus Christi
#21 of 80 in Corpus Christi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#35 of 80 in Corpus Christi
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
#4 of 80 in Corpus Christi
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi

Address: 5213 Oakhurst Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78411-4369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range: $122 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi, where you will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Corpus Christi. Contemporary hospitality and Corpus Christi excitement are waiting for you. Whether here for business or pleasure we are located just 10 minutes from Downtown Corpus Christi and the central business centers: NAS/CCAD, Texas A&M Corpus Christi, American Electric Power, Citgo, and the Corpus Christi Medical Center. The Holiday inn Express & Suites is only minutes away from the Corpus Christi International Airport, Bayfront Auditorium, USS Lexington, American Bank Center, Texas Aquarium and the Beach.Relax in your own elegant room featuring stylish dA(C)cor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, executive desk, cable TVs, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. If you re hungry, we are within walking distance to many restaurants.Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear indoor pool or energize in our Fitness Center. Polish that presentation at the business center and we even have the right space for your professional meeting. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Corpus Christi a success. We re the Holiday inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Corpus Christi
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing