We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for a short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Extended Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Nashua NH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting family in Corpus Christi. The biggest issue was actually getting to the hotel -- even my cousin, who is a CC native, had a problem finding the entrance. However, the room was nice, the front desk staff was pleasant, and it was good to have the kitchenette. It wasn't a five star hotel by any means, but it worked out well for our purposes.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gssuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Extended Stay, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear gssuzy,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. We are delighted to read our hotel room and services worked out well for you. We are very sorry you had a problem finding our location. We appreciate feedback from our valued guests, like you, as this gives us the avenue to target problem areas.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    8
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
7
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Decent stay at this hotel. Got a smaller room, top floor in the smoking section as these rooms are typically quieter as non smoking rooms are in more demand. The kitchen area was very well equipped with plates, silverware, a toaster, coffee maker, and a microwave with a pyrex dish. Everything in the kitchen was very clean, and looked almost new. The carpets and bedding all looked pretty clean as well, and the furnature looked clean too. The bedding was a little older, but I was not worried as it seemed pretty clean. The pillows were a little too soft, but firmer pillows could be found from housekeeping if needed. The shower and bathroom were decent, with a brand new, unopened tissue box and plenty of towels and washcloths. The grout needed some cleaning, and there were cracks in the corners of the walls, but nothing severe. The drains also produced sort of a smell, probably from not being used in a while as disappeared one shower in. The sink stopper was also broken, but again, not a big deal.
Front desk offered loaner DVD movies and even books to pass the time, which I thought was a neat idea. Service was very good each day, and the grounds outside were also very clean. The only minor issues were the odd location of the hotel. I entered a shopping center the first time only to meet up with a high concrete curb. The second time, I drove into a bank parking lot only to find a brick wall too tall to jump. The third time I found it, just watch the yield as you almost have to look behind you while you drive when entering/exiting. I actually found it easier to jump the curb and drive into the shopping center parking lot than use it. (I have a Wrangler, so wouldn't recommend this if you drove a car, truck maybe. j/k, don't do this!) Another issue is, on weekends, the parking lot behind the hotel (facing rooms on the back side) is a meeting place for kids in import wanna-be racers. The sound of reving engines and burnouts is music to my ears, but most people would be annoyed by this as it goes on for hours and well past midnight. I might actually not recommend this to people who are light sleepers on the weekends. Hotel management might want to work with law enforcement to prevent this from killing business on weekends for them.

This place is listed as extended stay, but I would recommend this for even short stays. I enjoyed it, and think some others would too. Just take my info combined with other reviews and go from there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bxb4784f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

we went me and my family and we loved the rooms there and service was great for sure i am going to stay here my next holiday the people are great even if you call at 3:00 am someone will help you thank you guys .

Room Tip: close to anywhere u want to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Great rate for this hotel. Looked a bit sketchy from the outside when I arrived - some of the windows wide open and a traveling carnival in the parking lot next door. Once inside though, it was pretty nice. A little worn in the hallways, but the room was nice and bed very comfortable. Surprisingly quiet considering the carnival was just outside my window. Staff was exceptionally courteous and friendly. Location is a little confusing, as it is in the corner of the S. Padre Island Drive/Crosstown Expressway intersection. It's not easy to find great hotels in Corpus Christi, so this was an OK choice, expecially given the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BizTravelerRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I found a really good bargain rate on the internet for this hotel, which is located close to relatives we were visiting. This hotel is not on the beach or in downtown Corpus Christi, but it is convenient to the freeway and close to the busy south end of town and shopping.We checked in and were pleasantly surprised with the helpfulness of the staff and the front desk. We were traveling with two toddlers, and they were very accommodating . . . upgrading us to a two double bed suite at no extra charge. The room was clean and appeared to be newly remodeled. I was very pleased with the quality of this hotel for the price. Current management and staff gave excellent service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

this was a great spot for people looking for a cheap suite the rooms are fine the rooms had clean everything sinks,toilets,floors,the beds were the soffest thing to even sleep on. The staff was alright in the morning they were all excited but the night before they looked so tired i wanted to tell the manager that they should get some rest and let the night shift people work but oh well. The breakfast was hot and ready they had cinnamon rolls and sausage in biscuits toast and other delicius food the place was by some of the fast foood placs i ate there for dinner anybody who reads this is not going to be sorry for reading this.

Room Tip: have the Staff look at the room and let you see it before you pay no matter wat they say
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed in several properties in Corpus, from the beach to downtown. This motel was more conveniently located so we tried it. It was very clean, the personnel well very friendly and helpful. The price was right. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ls1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Corpus Christi
Homewood Suites by Hilton Corpus...
#17 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
#42 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Corpus Christi (Flour Bluff)
Candlewood Suites Corpus Christi...
#22 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Corpus Christi - Staples
Extended Stay America - Corpus C...
#35 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Airpo...
#50 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Extended Stay

Property: Candlewood Suites Extended Stay
Address: 5014 Crosstown Expy, Corpus Christi, TX 78415-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Extended Stay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corpus Christi, Texas hotel is convenient to businesses and attractions. For a comfortable stay within minutes of downtown Corpus Christi businesses and the beautiful Gulf Coast, choose the Candlewood Suites of Corpus Christi. Our hotel is only seven miles from Corpus Christi International Airport (CRP). Magee Beach, Padre Island, Corpus Christi Bay and Gulf of Mexico beaches are within minutes of our hotel. Other Corpus Christi, TX attractions like the Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington and Corpus Christi Botanical Gardens are six miles from our hotel. Corpus Christi's premier shopping center, the newly renovated La Palmera with more than 100 stores, is only three miles away.Our hotel near Corpus Christi Airport is perfect for business travelers, with the American Bank Convention Center only four miles away. You'll find major companies like Flint Hills Pipelines, Whataburger Restaurants, the Naval Air Station, Corpus Christi Trade Center and the Refinery District within 11 miles of our Corpus Christi extended stay hotel. We meet your needs by offering a 24-hour business center, free guest laundry and free high-speed Internet.While lodging in Corpus Christi, take a dip in the pool by the Gazebo Grill. For a night indoors, you can check out a free movie from the lending library, purchase snacks at the Candlewood Cupboard and relax while watching the 32' flat screen TV. Our Corpus Christ hotel invites you to consider us home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Extended Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing