We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel; Quiet; Beach Access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Denver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel; Quiet; Beach Access”
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Nice hotel, good-sized rooms, quiet location, comfortable beds, beach access across street, sufficient breakfast, small but nice outdoor pool area. No restaurants within walking distance other than across the street at the Holiday Inn, but several options about 3 miles away on main road onto the island.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    68
    37
    26
    29
See reviews for
109
78
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Drove 6 hours to spend our anniversary here, with the family. Did a lot of research on Trip Advisor and decided to book this hotel because it was fairly new (built in 2006) and it had only a few negative comments. That being said, it was _not_ a pleasant stay.

• When paying by a debit card, they charge an additional 10% on top of your bill & put a hold on that amount for 2 weeks.
• The pool is not heated & freezing cold (and was closed on Sunday).
• The hot tub looked disgusting & was non-functional.
• The beds were squishy and slanted down. Ended up sleeping at the foot of the bed
• The sofa bed was broken and springy with the mattress coils.
• The tv cable only functioned for 1/2 the channels; the rest of the channels were fuzzy.
• Only 2 waffle irons & 2 toasters for an enormous breakfast crowd.
• The coffee was bad - very, very bad.
• Our room was small & there was no kitchen. How is that a suite?
• Ice machines on 2 of the 3 floors (that had them) were empty.
• Our card keys did not work on the door from the pool or for the workout room.
• No answer at front desk when I tried to resolve these issues.
• At check out, the front desk clerk never asked how our stay was. She seemed completely uninterested.
• The hotel is WAY off the beaten path. There are only 3 restaurants nearby. Do NOT, I repeat, do NOT go to the Island Italian restaurant, no matter what. That's a whole other review!
• The access to the beach is through the Holiday Inn parking lot, which specifically states, "No Beach Access" and there are no sidewalks going over.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Momsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnorthpa, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites North Padre Island for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry that your stay was not, as you say, a pleasant one.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Management was notified of the problem you experienced in using your card keys for the pool or the exercise room.

2) Maintenance was instructed to see to the repair or replacement of the beds in the room assigned to you.

3) Maintenance was instructed to see to it that the ice machines are properly maintained.

4) The front desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which our valued guests are to be treated.

5) Pool staff received additional training in properly maintaining the pool and hot tub.

6) Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Comfort Suites North Padre Island. We take the reviews given us by our valued guests seriously and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at the Comfort Suites on North Padre Island for 3 nights (7/25 - 7/27). After comparing this hotel to the other two Comfort Suites' locations in Corpus, we decided to spend the extra money to be near the beach rather than near the highway, and we're very glad we did.

Our room wasn't available when we arrived, but then again, we did try to check-in at 3:15 (posted check-in time is at 4:00). I waited in the lobby with all of our luggage while my wife took the kids to the beach to poke around. When the room was ready, I went up to check in and was fairly happy with the suite. The only negative I can really think of as far as cleanliness was that the mini fridge in the the room hadn't been cleaned out from one of the previous guests, and there was some old food and a large red stain (fruit punch?) all of part of one of the shelves. The room and bathroom were both quite spacious. The free high speed Internet was also a nice perk. The walls/ceiling were somewhat thin, and we could hear people stomping around on the floor above us, so you have to be prepared for the fact that it may not be the quietest hotel in the world.

The location of the hotel is just like others have said on here. From the front door of the CS, you just cross a street (not busy at all), walk through the Holiday Inn parking lot, and you're on the beach. I would definitely recommend spending the $40 on a cabana if you plan to be there all day. The earlier you show up in the morning, the better chance you've got of getting one. It looked like they had 15 - 20 set up on the beach. The beach area is clean, white sand, and the water, while not particularly blue, was very warm. The entire family had a great time while we were there.

The morning breakfast is what you would expect from other hotels in the chain...your regular continental type food plus make-your-own Texas or round waffles, along with a daily egg dish (small cheese omelettes) and a meat (either bacon or sausage). It's decent food, but then again, you're not paying extra for it, so you can't complain too much.

We spent a little bit of time at the pool when we got back from the beach, and that was clean and warm as well.

If you don't plan on spending much time at the beach but will be more in town, I'd stay elsewhere, but if you are going to be at the beach, this is a great choice. The day we weren't at the beach, we drove in to town, took the tour of the USS Lexington, went to the aquarium nearby, and then saw a Hooks' baseball game that night. There's also a great little miniature golf place nearby that's got some very interesting holes. Just don't go on a weekend night. It was really packed and took us several hours to play 18 holes.

We will go back to the Comfort Suites the next time we head down to Corpus..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mwgoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Comfort Suites, north Padre, Windward Blvd was our destination for several days of Sun & Funl. Room with King Bed and sofabed was very comfortable, with updated bath of terazzo lined walls, walk-in shower and cabinet-style sink. Coffee maker, refrig, and especially complimentary breakfast, including self-made waffles, and steamer bins of bacon or sausage and an omlet were offered every day.

Price was $116 (with breakfast) versus the H Inn across the street for $140 made it a better deal for us. Easy trek across the street thru the HI parking lot to the Seawall and Beach. Cabanas with 2 lounge chairs are available for $40 day on first-come basis, even if you're not HI guests, is a Must for an all-day outing. Pack your lunch & SPF 70 sunscreen and enjoy the day. Pool wasn't much...but we weren't there for the pool. All interactions with front desk was pleasant...and we had no surprises. This was a very laid-back Padre location.

Enjoyed dinner several nights at Snoopy's Pier at the intercoastal bridge. Boiled Shrimp was a treat every night, with the stunning sunset over-water view.

Padre Island National Seashore Park is just 10 miles away...and the most awesome experience of 'Kemp Ridley' sea turtle 'babies' release, on certain days when clutches of hatchling are ready to be released. There is a dedicated phone number with current release information, updated as necessary. This is a 6:30A event...but worth getting up early to cheer on these little critters to their first day's scramble to the sea, and the rest of their life. Hats off to a very dedicated group of Park Rangers and Volunteers that makes this happen.

Very much enjoy the Comfort Suites, and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

This hotel is across the street from the beach but the walk isn't bad at all. Some of the rooms have nice views and balconies, which are worth the extra cost. It's nothing spectacular, and the pool is just so-so, but hey, you're at the beach. Definitely stay here rather than the Holiday Inn across the street, which is on the beach and pricier because of that, but is older and run-down and the outdoor patio/bar area smells like puke. The best thing about this hotel is it's new, clean, on Padre Island and relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler60005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ausitn, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Don't stay at this hotel if you expect to be treated like a guest. The management at this place is rude and not accomodating with their customers. My wife and I missed the 72 hour cancellation date by a few hours and they said they could not cut us some slack; not even a little bit. They asked to put myself in their shoes. Would I cut anyone some slack? As a smart businessman, Yes, I would cut my customers some slack just to make sure they kept coming back over the years. In the future, we will stay at a hotel that treats their guests better and is not as desperate to make a buck as this.

Also, did I mention the location is somewhat awkward for a hotel on an island since you have to walk across a busy street to get to the beach instead having the beach at your doorstep.
.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ondane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

What a beautiful hotel, we got an extra night free. The pillowtop beds are soooo comfy and a free hot breakfest with eggs everyday along with alternating sausage or bacon, waffles in the shape of Texas. There was a power outage on the island and the staff got glow sticks for the guests, lights came back on at 9:00. Hot tub was the perfect relaxing end to a great day! Worked out on the treadmill for 30 minutes and picked up USA today at the desk. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! They also have free wifi

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamspadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#19 of 80 in Corpus Christi
511 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#28 of 80 in Corpus Christi
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Padre Island
Best Western Padre Island
#7 of 80 in Corpus Christi
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Passport Inn Corpus Christi
Passport Inn Corpus Christi
#70 of 80 in Corpus Christi
13 reviews
13.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
17.5 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Address: 15209 Windward Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-8090 (Formerly Comfort Suites North Padre Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Padre Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Comfort Suites Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing