We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good inside - bad outside” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
“Good inside - bad outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The room was great, breakfast was good too! However, there is no pedestrian crossing to the beach. So if you have your kids with you get ready to RUN across the street between the traffic.

Also, no paved path to the beach. We took the path of hot sand and sand ants to the beach, then went through the Holdiay Inn parking lot to and from every other time.

Finally - the pool is gross. The tile may have never been cleaned, and I sure didn't smell any chlorine, and there were locals coming to the hotel just to swim - annoying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    35
    26
    30
See reviews for
105
74
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just stayed here for 5 nights. The location is great, just a short walk from the beach. Parking wasn't a problem at the hotel.

Breakfast was standard "breakfast included" fare, with the variation being, either sausage, bacon, or sausage patty. Other than that the same every day. But that's okay, same as everywhere else.

The bad part was the house-keeping, or lack of it. We turned up on a Monday night, the corridors were dirty, not just sand from the beach, but bits of trash too. Then we got into our room, there was no less than 4 bits of chewing gum stuck to the bathroom floor, and they had obviously been half-heartedly removed, because there was still a good portion of the gum still there, and they had been there a long while from the color.

The carpet in the room was not clean, but around the edges, where the carpet goes up the wall for maybe 4 inches it was filthy, I don't think it had been cleaned for months.

Also, on the fleece that is on top of the sheets, one of them had a very large patch of toothpaste on it... not nice.

We stayed for 5 days. During this time, the toilet was cleaned only once, and the bath tub was not cleaned at all.

We also ran out of toilet paper one day, so my wife asks one of the house keepers if she could have a roll from the cart. The reply was "No, you will have to wait for house keeping to get to your room". At that point she went into a room and my wife helped herself.

One other thing to note is that this hotel is noisey. They obviously cheaped out when they built it because you can constantly hear people walking, jumping, stomping upstairs. I have stayed in many hotels, and you can't usually hear people upstairs.

Lastly, the pillows are the smallest pillows I have ever seen in a hotel. They were cushion sized squares.

We won't be staying at this hotel again due to the lack of cleanliness and the noise from floors above.

Room Tip: Only take a top floor room due to the noise you will experience on levels with a floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed a 4 days everything great good breakfast great staff. The GM Deborah was awsome my wife had an issue she stayed with use very soft spoken what a gem. Will be back next year!!!! The staff was great as well very helpfull

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and i can down for a few days, Great staff and room was perfect there was a little sea salt on windows but I understand use to live in Florida on beach if you ever lived on beach you know what I am talking about. i think the staff does a great job on up keep for being on the beach. Great stay will be back and breakfast is great Betty and Henry are on time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_B30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAYLOR, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The front desk clerk never even greeted us but just asked our name and gave us keys and pointed to the elevator

The bathroom was dirty and there were holes in the wall.
The windows looking toward the beach were so salt covered that we could barely see out of them
The elevator had trash on the floor that was not removed during our three day stay.
The pool area had broken chairs and cigarette butts that had likely been there a while as well as standing water that we had to walk thru to enter the pool and hot tub area

No newspapers - even in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnorthpa, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for considering Comfort Suites North Padre Island for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which he is to treat you, our valued guests.

• Housekeeping was instructed to see to the rooms being properly outfitted before being released for occupancy.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of broken chairs in the pool area and instructed to look into any needed extermination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again consider staying at Comfort Suites North Padre Island. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

first off, the girls that worked there in the morning were awesome!! I won't say what they did for us cuz I don't want to get them in trouble, but they rock and were hilarious! so now for the bad stuff:
Housekeeping is very much below par here. We stayed 3 nights. Each day they flipped up the comforter, emptied trash and gave us fresh towels. However one day we left some breakfast items in our room before we left (plates, cups, cereal bowls, etc) and those items were still there when we returned. Gross. The crumbs on the nightstand were still there and a cup of cherry pits also. I mean, we try to pick up but we intentionallyleft these things to test the staff, and they failed.
The pool is very small...very very small. The pics are a little deceiving. The hot tub is the smallest one I have ever seen.Also, I believe the Hawthorne suites next door sends their guests over to this pool. Not cool.
the walk to the beach is nothing...please..not even 5 minutes. the view is very pretty and the walk is easy, even barefoot.
The room: only one trash can in the bathroom, but plenty of room for one more in the main sleeping area. the sofabed mattress: gack. My 8 year old couldn't stand the springs in her back so she cozied up on the sofa. The bed: very comfortable with the tiniest little square pillows I've ever seen in a hotel. Suprisingly these worked very well for us. The sheets and towels are very soft. On the balcony...there are no chairs and the railing is made of plastic and seems a little wiggly. I felt very uncomfortable leaning on it from the 4th floor. Also we noticed large patches of mold in the corners of the bathroom, and tiles falling off the edges.
The breakfast: It really is no big deal. yes they have a waffle maker. the eggs are powdered. Everything else is continental style. If you want the good breakfast, book the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciera1love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed there in June of 2012. Shower had LOTS of mildew in it. Had to ask for a shower chair and it was so dirty I didnt even use it. They do not clean the rooms daily they just put new towels in the bath and throw the covers and pillows up over the sheets.(and not in a neat way) Ceiling fan did not work and night stand light had a bulb burned out that was never replaced. Pool was so small and crowded we didnt even get in it. Beach was nice we were able to drive about 20+ miles down the beach and it was nice. If you dont have a 4x4 do not attempt this you will get stuck in the sand. We pulled alot of people out of some very soft sand just about everyday. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnorthpa, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for considering Comfort Suites North Padre Island for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Housekeeping was instructed to see to the rooms being properly outfitted before being released for occupancy.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of shower chair in the bathroom area and instructed to replace it.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again consider staying at Comfort Suites North Padre Island. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#21 of 83 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Padre Island
BEST WESTERN Padre Island
#10 of 83 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#36 of 83 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
#6 of 83 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Comfort Suites Near Texas A&M-Co...
#30 of 83 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
#7 of 83 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Address: 15209 Windward Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-8090 (Formerly Comfort Suites North Padre Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Padre Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Comfort Suites Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing