We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”
Review of City Diner and Oyster Bar - CLOSED

City Diner and Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
2 reviews
“Surprised”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

When I pulled up I was extremely nervous. It is an older diner & isn't the cleanest place. Our waiter was super friendly & accommodating. We had 7 people in our party- one person ordered gumbo, one the amberjack, one swordfish, one shrimp Alfredo, one the ABC sandwhich & I had the shrimp PO Boy with onion rings. There was no food left on the plates. It was delicious.
Sure the place needs updating but don't judge a book by its cover or you might miss a real gem!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnleveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    25
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Getting old”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have eaten here many times over the years and find the food good but the decor needs some updating, still good food at a reasionable price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Jem”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

While it isn't much to look at from the outside the food and service was right on. The problem I saw here was that you had no idea how good the food would be or to the amount of effort that was used to prepare it by the decor and setting of this diner. However, once the wait staff got started recommending and describing the dishes we were very please with the suggestions and the outcomes. The Amberjack was excellent and as recommending was grilled fresh front of house. The shrimp was the best and so fresh and delicious. We had lunch and then came back for breakfast which was also very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rdyt0g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I ordered the popcorn shrimp salad & homemade cheesecake. I definitely recommend this restaurant if you want good food in a casual atmosphere. :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Butterflyki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nothing really stood out except the smell of wet/damp carpet. Oh man, I've eaten here before but during my recent visit as I entered the smell was so strong I had to leave. Hint, Change the carpet.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Toolman195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Diner and Oyster Bar also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing