We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal and service!”

Republic of Texas Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Republic of Texas Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Twigg Street
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We ate at the Republic of Texas Bar & Grill in the Omni Hotel three out of three nights we were in Corpus Christi. Our waitress was one of the best, most professional server I have ever come across. Food was outstanding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toolpusher2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    79
    40
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent, but not Extraordinary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nice view overlooking the city, but not very cozy and not necessarily the best food you can find anywhere

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ullrich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have heard how amazing this place was and finally got a chance to go see for ourselves.
We had reservations, the place was not busy at all and yet, when we were seated- we were put in a place with a poor view- huge dissapointment
Our server took forever to even acknowledge we were there. When he finally came, he told us they were known for their steaks. We each ordered a salad, potaotes and steak. It took quite awile for the salad to come. My husband ordered his steak rare- it was way overcooked and had to go back. I ordered my steak medium well and when I cut into it, it was very rare. We both had to send out steaks back. Now we were left with our potatoes, we could eat them alone, or wait formthe steaks to come back and eat them cold.
When the steaks came back, they were cooked correctly and by then we had cold potatoes. It was almost impossible to get our iced tea refilled. Our service was very dissapointing considering the menu prices
Overall, the view is nice, the food and the service were a huge dissapointment!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherrieLyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced for average quality dinner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This place has great atmosphere and views located on the top floor of the Omni in Corpus Christi. The service was ok, not bad but nothing to get excited about either. Now this place bills itself as a premium steakhouse. Well they have premium prices but only average steaks. I ordered the bone in
NY Strip. It was prepared correctly but was no better and perhaps not as good as any Outback or Texas Roadhouse Steak. I often dine at premium places (Mastro's, Del Friscos, Gibsons etc) and this place is not in their league! Try elsewhere>

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ispvp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Breathtaking view, delicious 5 star food, friendly and attentive staff. Worth the money for a romantic dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Republic of Texas Bar & Grill also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Republic of Texas Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing