We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ran the Gamut” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ran the Gamut”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I rated this stay an 'average' in that the three nights I stayed there ran the gamut of highs and lows. The check-in process was smooth with a courteous rep on the afternoon of April 1, 2014. While checking in, however, a guest approached complaining that his key would no longer open his room and that it was the fifth time in five days that it has happened. During my stay, it happened to me once, and twice to a co-worker. I also heard several other people state their keys weren't working--so there was definitely something going on with their key system that made for some inconveniences with guests.

My room was very clean with the exception of cigarette butts on the balcony from a previous guest. Housekeeping shouldn't assume that no one would leave trash on the balcony. The wind was blowing very hard, so I am not sure how they didn't blow away, but seeing them detracted from the overall clean appearance.

One night I woke early and decided to use the exercise facility. The on-duty desk person told me they don't open the room until 6am. I have been in many hotels where there are people working out at 4am because they need to be showered, and have eaten and out the door by 7:30am. I thought this policy was ridiculous. In all fairness, there was a door to the pool from the fitness room, but couldn't they just lock that door and let guests use the fitness room around the clock? In any event, I went jogging outside and returned at 6:15am and the room was still locked--so I don't know what their actual policy is for that room. If you work out in the mornings, don't assume you can do that here.

The next morning I decided to do some work (via internet) and found the wi-fi was down. I went to the front desk and the rep told me that she about the problem and the 'tech guys' would have to reset it (their router, I assume). Knowing I could use my mobile phone, I did have 3-bars of service on the 16th floor using a Samsung Note with Sprint--however, my co-worker had no service on the 15th flood with an iPhone using AT&T (just an FYI).

Overall, the property was very clean and all personnel I encountered were very courteous and respectful. It was conveniently located for my business trip and I probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japheaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Japheaux,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. It is a delight to read you found the rooms clean and our personnel courteous and respectful. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please be assured that the feedback we receive will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    78
    75
    49
    19
See reviews for
78
63
8
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This location is not worth the money. Ok i just recently stayed at the one off Navigation Blvd which is centrally located making it easier and funner to explore Corpus and Padre Island. The price you pay to eat and park you can use in gas to stay at the Navigation Blvd location. The rooms are better,staff are more eager to accomodate,the housekeeping is way more proficient, breakfast is free,outdoor pool,malls and walmart close by. The list goes on. At the downtown Marina all you get is easy access to the beach and boardwalk unless you come for a meeting, conference, etc...and then ofcourse you need this location. The view is definitely a plus,but housekeeping was horrible or should i say not getting any. Restaurant closes,i had to get a ride to Water Street the first night and Walk to what a burger the next. You pay for parking. Rooms are not huge. They were clean though. I just wasn't impressed. Its not a horrible place it's just not the bomb either. So i say Average.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVETRAVELING100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear ILOVETRAVELING100,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our housekeeping staff. We’re also sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was my second stay at this property, and likely my last. Starting with the positives: this place is sparking clean and the rooms are comfortable with great views. Front desk staff were very professional and personable (esp. Denver). Everything about room service delivery was flawless. Be aware that you will be charged $10 to self park and $15 for valet. The negative: The restaurant. I had the breakfast buffet ($14, not a good value). The service was so poor that I had to write this review. The hostess seated me, brought a menu, got distracted and took the menu with her. I had to chase her down to get it. Once I decided on the buffet, I realized that was a poor choice. Eggs were dry and looked like they'd been there a long time. Gravy was the consistency of water. I ordered a soft drink and the waitress took 15 minutes to get it to my table. I had to go to waitress stations to request a check, then after paying, request a receipt. The restaurant staff were passive-aggressive in their neglect and acted as if they'd prefer to be anywhere else. That's no way to run a restaurant. Because of their poor service, my colleagues and I will seek better treatment at another local hotel that actually appreciates our patronage.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jay J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great view of the Gulf. Affordable for the location and comfort. Love that the pool is half indoors, half outdoors. Located downtown by the marinas and easy access to highway system. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms to the east face the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate you staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much, located very close to the ocean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Tish helped us get our AC fixed immediately. We felt very welcome & at home! Good mattresses & pillows. overall was enjoyed my stay completely!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The best mattress and pillows I have ever slept in. This Holiday Inn is excellent for the price. The room and bathroom was clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating , room service was excellent, plenty of parking, bar in the lobby, small market for snacks or drinks, close to the water. I was pleasantly surprised and will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful 5 star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Overall an OK hotel. We stayed Thursday through Sunday morning. The housekeeping missed cleaning our room on Saturday. The decor was being remodeled, but the hotel was in need of more maintenence than remodeling. Also, in our opinion, overpriced for what we got. Will be exploring other hotels during our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NairbChally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear NairbChally,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
BEST WESTERN Corpus Christi
#9 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#18 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
1.2 mi away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#47 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
5.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina

Property: Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina
Address: 707 N Shoreline Blvd, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-2324 (Formerly Omni Corpus Christi Hotel Marina Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina hotel. Conveniently located in downtown Corpus Christi, experience an iconic coastal hotel overlooking the beautiful sparkling waters of the bayfront. Our luxurious hotel is directly across the street from the historic seawall and within an easy walk of local night life, restaurants, fishing and more. This includes the Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, Museum of Science and History, Whataburger Field and the American Bank Center. Take time and go for a swim and sunbathe by our beautiful indoor and outdoor pool offering panoramic views of the Corpus Christi Marina. The Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina hotel is located in downtown Corpus Christi near many corporate locations offering convenient access to our business guest. These locations include the American Bank Convention Center, Exxon Mobil, Christus Spohn Hospital and Koch Industries. This 100% non smoking facility features large meeting and banquet space offering delicious catering menus. Our hotel offers a truly unique and enjoyable experience for all of our guests whether you are visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Downtown Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing